2012 Review

Let’s be honest, what is there to review. Well there was one thing, but, we’ll get to that later. Don’t worry. I’m not gonna be all down beat, but, I am gonna be honest.

2012 was a ‘healthier lifestyle’ and a ‘blogging’ disaster area. The lifestyle became increasingly more unhealthy and I posted a derisory total of 17 blog posts in the whole year – Nice! Obviously the blog posts were proportionate to the level of healthy input. Little or no healthy input = little or no blogging. Basically I started to hide away from everyone 😦

Anyhoo, time to come out from the shadows and boldly go where I’ve been before, get to where I got and go a little further – Come on…!!!

Let’s call this phase two – When I started the blog back in May 2011, I’d already been at the lifestyle change since March, I was already motivated and already getting results. This phase two is a bit different in that I’m blogging from day one. Back on day one in March 2011, I was (kind of) motivated, I didn’t have any results yet and I was finding it hard. Ditto for today, so bare with me as I find my way back to being super motivated with lbs of lossed weight and inches to show for it. In the beginning, I always said it wasn’t about weight loss it was about becoming healthier and I meant it when I said it. I still do mean it, but, dya know what, I really want to lose loads of weight as well 🙂

The Plan

Exercise – Well the plan is in development. I suppose the biggest change is that I’m not going to go to the gym as much as I did. That doesn’t mean I’m not going to exercise, but, it does mean I’ve bought a treadmill, a bike and I’m going to be running outdoors as much as I can.

Right here, right now in this tiny brain of mine, I want to exercise in some shape or form everyday. Now, I know that’s not going to happen (mainly because today is day two and I’ve not done any yet 🙂 ), but I will try and do something three to four times per week.

Food – This has to play a much more active part of how I progress, so watch this space, because historically, I find it really difficult to do. I’ve got to do it though, I will fail if I don’t.

Photographs & Projects – Yes I will continue with the embarrassing photos and I will continue with my little projects like ‘100 amigos’ for example. Oh btw, the recent photo on ther right is not recent at all. I’m kind of somewhere in the middle. I’ll sort an up to date one soon.

Let’s be honest – I don’t know where this is going to go, but, I did so well the last time I was focused I know I can do it. I’m not as heavy as I was in the beginning (although I’m pretty close – weight to follow) so I’m still on the right side of where I need to be.

But finally – There was one good thing to come out of 2012 as far as ‘healthy Paul’ was concerned. I did run the Liverpool Half Marathon in 2:49:57. What’s not to be proud of with that hey 🙂 In my wildest dreams I never thought I would do that and I did. Maybe I need to think about running iut again this year as a motivational starting point. What say you?

See you all again soon for an update of how I’m getting on. Let me know your thoughts and pass on any ideas.

Adios amigos

Paul (Kracker)

“I Can Do It…!!!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle, Obesity, Physical Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2012 Review

  1. Cory B says:

    Again let me say, glad to have you back. I too have been in the up and down, back and forth state of mind and I can attest to how badly it sucks. I look forward to big things from you in the coming year, I’ll work to keep you accountablei!!

  2. Although there are times when I still struggle to motivate myself, having a home treadmill does make things a lot easier. 1) no commute time, public showers and locker rooms 2) temperature control, no rain or wind and 3) no yearly gym fees 😃

Leave a comment