Oh How The Mighty Have Fallen

20130107

What a difference 10 months make

I’ve had my first run…

So, lets face it, I was never exactly ‘mighty’ in the truly mighty sense of the word, but, on the 25th March 2012, I did run the Liverpool Half Marathon in 2:49:57. That’s 13.5 miles or 21.7 kms. Pretty ‘fantastic’ in the absolutely fantastic sense of the word (even if I do sound like a broken record)!

“Why Paul, what’s changed”, I hear you say. Quite a lot it seems. I left the house tonight with a spring in my step, ready to ‘begin again’. Unfortunately my body was not in step with my head and that spring in the aforementioned step soon became a pain in my lower back. Gravity pulled my every increasing stomach to the floor, my back started to grow in pain and I felt like I did back at the very beginning of my journey in March 2011 – totally unfit. The run lasted 42 minutes and I’d covered 2.2 miles or 3.5 kms and I’d walked a fair chunk of it.

Look baby, the only way is up and that’s how I’ve got to think about it. I’ve started and that’s all that matters.

Time for me to put a proper training plan together if I have any chance of running the half marathon this year.

In other news…

  • I’m gagging for chocolate
  • I’ve got caffeine deficiency headaches and
  • Non of my clothes fit

Apart from that, everything is just peachy 🙂

Adios amigos,

ps – A big thanks to Natalie from work, who, when I showed her my id badge in work today said, “oh yeah Paul you can’t half see you’ve put it on…” Lol 🙂

Paul (Kracker)

“I Can Do It…!!!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Fitness, Healthier Lifestyle, Obesity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Oh How The Mighty Have Fallen

  1. As you know, consistency is the way ahead. I have some aids to your running training. If we meet on Friday I shall bring them for you!!! 😉 Speak soon mate.

Leave a comment