Half Marathon Training – Week #3 Stats

It’s been a difficult week. Temperatures here in Liverpool have been between -1 to -5 and I need to renew my gym membership. The combination of these two factors has meant not much running outside and no trips to the gym as an alternative to running, or, as part of the schedule.

I decided I’d make up for it today by going for 12 or 15k after church, unfortunately, about 500 yards in (sorry for mixing my metric and imperial), I got a pain in my right calf, similar to cramp but not. I decided to carry on and run through it, big mistake! The further I ran, the further I was to a point of no return and I was going all the way home. There was no way I was going to walk, it was freezing. This was supposed to be my longest run yet, so I had to change plan and head straight for home. It still ended up being nearly 9k (5.5m) which on the one hand is great, but, on the other hand, I’m paying for it in my calf now. Pain people, lots of pain.

Anyhoo, here are the stats for the week…

And finally…

I’ve not been weighed for two weeks as I like to get weighed on the same scales in my gym. As I need to renew my membership there is nothing to report. Next week hopefully, finances willing.

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

“I Can Run It…!!!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Half Marathon Training – Week #3 Stats

  1. 25071065 says:

    Get yourself some cold weather baselayers mate. Look at Canterbury, Skins 360 (JJB/ DW Sports), Under Armour… last forever!!! 😉 #noexcuses

    • paulbentley says:

      I’ve got some long baselayer bottoms — they look like leggings — and a top. They are great. I was still going to be freezing if I stopped though.

      Thanks for the comment.

  2. J. says:

    yea, take it easy. Hopefully that heals up quick.

    • paulbentley says:

      Thanks J. It’s feeling a bit better tonight, so I’m going to have a walk on the treadmill in the morning. I think I’ll leave out a run until say Wed or Thurs though. Sports injuries hey, who’d a thunk it a couple of years ago – not me! 😀

  3. Shonnie says:

    My hubby had that happen to him in the Tri/Adventure race we were teamed up in. He said he just had to keep running; that it was horrible, but weird thing was it was gone by the time we had to team row. My hope is to do that race with him Side-by-Side this year. It is a 7mile run, 16.5 mile bike, and a 5.5 mile kayaking light rapids–mostly rowing river.

    Last time–when I weighed 255lbs–we had been given the wrong type canoe for the river. My buddy had gotten us a LAKE canoe and Mike’s center of balance wasn’t good at the time and he would flip us every time we hit a rapids. It took us 2 hours to finish that river! hahaha … it was still a blast even though I cursed him a few times for hitting me in the head with the canoe. 😀

  4. Take it easy for a bit, hope your calf feels better!

Leave a Reply

