Let The Training Begin…

So I’ve started.

What do you mean, “Started what?” My training schedule for the Liverpool Half Marathon of course. It’s week 1/6 and I’ve had my first run session. Look below at my schedule chart which I will update on the blog periodically. I’m going to be honest and accountable with this. If I miss a session I won’t strike it through, if I complete a session I’ll, you guessed it, strike it through.

I decided to go for it with session one and I did nearly 5 miles (8k) not 3 miles (5k) . Oops. What can I say, I was excited to start, so 8k under my belt today – Come on!!!

Week Mon. Tues. Wed. Thurs. Fri. Sat. Sun.
1 Rest 3 mi 30min 3 mi Rest 40min 4 mi
2 Rest 3.5 mi 30min 3.5 mi Rest 45min 5 mi
3 Rest 4 mi 30min 4 mi Rest 50min 6 mi
4 Rest 4.5 mi 30min 4.5 mi Rest 55min 8 mi
5 Rest 5 mi 30min 5 mi Rest 60min 10 mi
6 Rest 2 mi Rest 2 mi Rest Rest Race Day

More to come. See you guys soon.

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

“I Can Run It…!!!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle, healthy lifestyle, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Let The Training Begin…

  1. pamxyz says:

    Good luck Paul, When is the Race? I thought the Liverpool Half was 60 days away, 18th March! or are you doing something else? 6 weeks is a challange and a Half.

  2. J. says:

    i feel so lazy now taking 16 weeks to prep for mine (plus the 8 I already did). Good luck! A tip I read (at least for marathons) – band-aids over the nipples man. No one wants to see em bleed.

    • paulbentley says:

      Hey J. No way man, you’re not lazy at all. It’s just worked out that way for me. I don’t know if you’ve read the comment above, but, it turns out I can’t do math haha. I’ve actually got eight weeks, which is a bit better. The thing is, I’ve actually ran the distance once before, it just wasn’t ‘official’. When I did it, I actually weighed more than I do today, so I’m feeling pretty confident about completing it. The plan is, a full marathon in October. Now that (as you already well know) is going to be a completely different story *gulp*. But guess what?

      “We Can Do It…!!!”

  3. J. says:

    I also meant to ask – are these indoors or treadmill. You better get outside some if just treadmill.

    • paulbentley says:

      All the runs will be outdoor on, Tues, Thurs and Sun. Wed and Fri will be gym work, bike, treadmill (walking) etc. Not sure if I’ll rigidly keep to rest days. I suppose I should, but… 😉

Leave a Reply

