Getting Through The Winter

Hey guys and girls, how we doin’?

Not been able to post much last week or so. I was on my first week back at work last week and it was the early shift. Needless to say, I came home, went the gym, ate and collapsed into a heap on the couch, on the toilet, in the kitchen or if I was lucky, on the bed. I didn’t see much after about 9.30pm. I either work and play hard or I’m getting old. Me thinks option two 🙂

I’m good peeps. No scratch that, I’m super good. I know I usually only get weighed monthly, but, for the next few weeks, I’m gonna weigh weekly. I’m not sure why. I think maybe to encourage me or maybe just to keep me under the microscope. Whatever the reason, it feels right, for now. The thing is, I’m pretty sure, if I can get through the winter with it’s long dark evening/nights, long cold (and dark) mornings and generally cold, damp, dark and bleak days, I’ll crack the year. Did I mention it’s dark.

So, a weekly weigh, weird haha. First weigh was last Friday and I had dropped 09 lbs. Yes you heard me, 09 lbs. I won’t be getting over excited by the number, as I’m guessing lots of water came flooding out with the odd fat globule – nice. Anyhoo, 09 lbs is 09 lbs and I’m moving in the right direction. I’m still only going to post official weigh-ins monthly, but, for the record, I’m at 22 st 09 lbs. Cooking on gas people, cooking on gas. Food has been okay and only the occasional snack attack. I’ve hit the gym hard again this week too. Got to stay focused, remember why I’m doing this and keep the changes to my life style.

Running Update

Not done much outdoors yet this year, but, I’ve been seriously inspired by J from ’52 Weeks, 52 Pounds’ I’m going to look for a marathon near the end of the year. Off the top of my head, I think the Liverpool Marathon is towards the end of the year. I’ll report back.

What else?

Not much really. Finding my feet again. I seriously need to update some stuff on the blog. I’ll try and get to it this week sometime.

As ever, a big thank you to all who read a long.

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

“I Can Do It…!!!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Fitness, Healthier Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Getting Through The Winter

  1. J. says:

    oh no – the insanity virus has mutated in a blog-bourne version!

    I think weekly is a good move regardless. Whenever you get to where you want to go, there seems to be a lot of evidence of daily weigh-ins being key to staying there

  2. davidisfat says:

    Good to see you getting back into it Paul. Good luck, I second J. on the weekly weigh-ins. I haven’t thought much about dailies, but there are quite a few people out there who swear it helps keep them motivated.

    Regards,
    David

  3. Team Oyeniyi says:

    Great to see you are still working at it!

Leave a Reply

