A Year in (Quick) Review

Let’s cut to the chase shall we…

I’ve been weighed today and I was right. By right I mean I did gain more than 20-25 lbs since the end of October when I last got weighed, but, I was also wrong as I didn’t gain 30. It was 27 lbs in total. Look, it is what it is.

On a brighter note – Here are my end of 2011 stats.

Starting Weight (April 2011) – 391 lbs /// 27 st 13 lbs /// 177.3 kgs

End of Year (03 Jan 2012) – 326.5 lbs /// 23 st 4 lbs /// 148.1 kgs

Net Loss For 2011 – 64.5 lbs /// 4 st 08.5 lbs /// 29.25 kgs

Listen. If this whole thing has been just about weight loss, I can be pretty proud of my achievements. Nearly 5 stone in just over eight months. Come on, let’s be honest, if an angel would have came down from heaven on the 1st January 2011 and said, ‘Paul, by this time next year, you will weigh 4 stone less’, I would have bitten his hand off! Please excuse the inappropriate eating analogy, but, you get my point.

But it’s not ‘just’ about weight loss. It’s about far more. It’s about health, it’s about change, it’s about a new me. It’s about overcoming demons, overcoming old habits, overcoming old me.

I’ve proven a lot to myself in 2011. These proofs are so good, they deserve bullet points.

  • My life is not over
  • My weight, lack of mobility/fitness, circumstances and depression didn’t define me
  • I can walk up a mountain (or two)
  • I can run a half marathon distance
  • I can get a job
  • I can stick to stuff
  • When I come unstuck it doesn’t mean it’s over. I can pick up from where I left off
  • I can see the big picture

I turned my life around in 2011.

I didn’t think it would happen, but it did. Here’s the thing, God heard my prayer and I got off the couch. Those two things were what was needed to start the ball rolling and to stop me rolling 😉 haha.

I’ve still got a long, long way to go, but, I’m determined to stay on my journey to a ‘healthier’ me, my ‘healthier’ lifestyle. I’m sure there will be more successes and a fair few hiccups, but, change has happened.

A few end of year thanks.

My Saviour & LORD

Solly, the sprogs, Tymsy, Lore, Neil, Andy, Pam, Chris, Brenda

The Church posse, The Facebook posse, the WordPress posse

Active Sefton, Crosby Lakeside, ParkRun

Ascics  Gels, Base Layers, Karrimor, Vaseline (if you’ve had nipple chafe you know why)

Enterprise plc 🙂

Life is good people

“I Can (Continue To) Do It…!!!”

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

4:13 – I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me (Philippians 4:13)

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Fitness, Healthier Lifestyle, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Year in (Quick) Review

  1. Sandi says:

    Those are some impressive statistics! Well done for accepting the hiccups and seeing the positives, which there are clearly many of. Also, you grew yourself a moustache, don’t forget that achievement. 🙂

  2. Leigh says:

    Bravo! You gotta live your life and I think that oyou know enough to get back on plan to minimize the damage so that you don’t backslide too much!

    Good for you. Happy 2012.

  3. You made amazing changes to your life in 2011 and I’m sure learnt a huge amount about yourself along the way. I hope (and know) you will find your health and fitness feet again soon.
    Good luck in 2012 looking forward to reading more from you.

  4. pamxyz says:

    Paul well done you. What your next goal, any races planned?? Keep us updated. you know that keeps you on track
    wishing you faith, health and happiness for 2012

    • paulbentley says:

      Hi Pam!!! How are you? I’m back on board and feeling good. Gonna get the running on line again. done a couple of short distances but nothing over 5k. The dark nights don’t help. Thinking about the Liverpool Marathon 🙂 What do you think? Thanks for staying in touch.

      Paul

  5. J. says:

    ./poke ./poke
    a blog a week keeps the pounds aweighin!

  6. Shonnie says:

    Glad your back on trac man! WTG with all you did last year! 😀

Leave a Reply

