The Road Test

Howdy guys.

Well this morning I went to the new gym before work 😀

It was a road test to see if an early morning gym session followed by a shower in work was going to be do-able. Verdict – Totally Do-able!

Although, the test did throw up some things to consider and iron out.

Numero uno. The 6.07am train was cancelled so I could only do a 30 not a 60 min cardio session, but, it was all good. Absolutely nothing I can do about this because the 6.07 is the first train of the day. The cancellation meant I got to the gym half an hour late, so, I augmented (nice word) the session by running to the gym from the train station. Not bad as I was carrying a man bag, a rucksack and a suit bag. My new gym buddy, Steph, was already hitting the treadmill by the time I arrived. Although, I couldn’t see a lot of sweating going on. Could I Steph? ;-).

Numero dos. The shower at work is great, brand spanking new and I think I’m actually the first person to use it, but, I’m going to have to make sure I give enough time to cool my body down before I head out to my desk. The last thing I want is a seriously sweaty shirt for the first hour of the working day. Yes, I know, gross!

Heading through work to get to the shower wasn’t as awkward as I thought it was going to be. The walk takes me through the length of our (open plan) office, past a couple of departments, then past my own. I had visions of every pair of eyes following me all the way and people thinking, “what the beep are you doing walking through here in a tracksuit?” but, nothing to worry about. It’s just after 8am, so the office isn’t too full yet. Good news!

Numero tres. Food. I was hungry most of the day, but it was because I didn’t have breakfast or anything to eat just after the session. Me thinks a big breakfasty thingy during my morning break and some fruit (bananas) when I sit down to start work. Before I got the job, whenever I went the gym, I’d have a massive protein rich munch afterwards and this would keep me feeling full all day. I need more planning.

Numero cuatro. A very important note to self…

Paul, remember to take your boxer shorts in your kit bag. If you do, you won’t have to go ‘commando’ all day like you did today.

End of note.

Numero cinco. Me thinko it’s time for bedo 😀

Finally…

By the time most of you read this, my beautiful daughter, Lois, will have reached her sweet 16th Birthday (October 12th). Join me in congratulating her on hitting this first important mile-stone in the life of any young person.

Lois, you probably won’t read this, but…

Hija, Mum and I are so proud of you and thank God so much for blessing our lives with you.

Baby girl, you are a constant source of joy and gladness to me and my heart bursts with love for you, just thinking about you brings a smile to my face. It’s, your smile, your laugh, your constant chatter ;-), your kind heart, your sense of fun, your wicked dance moves 😉 ;-), the things you do, the things you say, your genuine love for others, your everything. I love all these things about you. I just full on 110% love you meff girl and I pray God’s richest blessings on you this year and every year throughout the days of your life. Enjoy being 16 kidda. One last thing – DON’T KISS ANY BOYS UNTIL YOU ARE AT LEAST 25 😀

Un besos y un abrazo.

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

“I Can Do It…!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Family, Gym, Healthier Lifestyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Road Test

  1. I’m going to go out on a limb and say that there’s a strong possibility that she’s already kissed a boy. But maybe not… 🙂

  2. Barbara says:

    Happy Sweet Sixteen!!!! I have two daughters and they know they must finish graduate school before kissing any boys. hahahaha

  3. Charles Bailey says:

    Happy birthday Hija! Going commando? OMG I woke up the baby laughing at that one. I am so happy you found a job. That means my turn is next!

  4. J. says:

    geez, 25 – how lax. I tell mine (4 yrs old) everything is for when she is 30.

  5. Happy Birthday Lois!
    … super impressed by your 6am early start to go to the gym. I just can’t do morning gym visits. I’m getting up an hour earlier at the moment but just can’t convince myself to do it.

  6. Keep extra boxers and socks in your desk. It’s a little weird when co-workers see them, but it’s better than going commando!

Leave a Reply

