My Other Gym

I’m on the early shift at work – loved it – which means I can try the new gym ‘Fit For Free’ after work. So I did 🙂

Look, the machines are okay, it’s big, but, it’s not Lakeside. It’s early days and I’m obviously just emotionally connected to ‘my’ gym, but, I’m going to make good use of it, especially when I’m on the late start at work. I need to give it time, get to know a few people and it will be fine. As I went after work, I decided to shower at the gym, but, there was no way I was paying £1 for the privilege, so I asked could I use the disabled shower. It’s free! Ian (the guy on reception) was cool about it and let me use it. I told him I thought it was ridiculous. I showered for free. What do you think, is that bad of me? Okay yes, I’m able bodied, but, surely this is reverse discrimination. Imagine if the able bodied showers were free and the disabled shower had to be paid for. Quite rightly, people would complain, I’m just doing the same in reverse. Am I? Honestly, let me know what you think, I kinda feel bad about it. Or should I?

Anyhoo, I christened my first session with a one hour treadmill cardio climb/run. 7km distance (there was no climb figure 😦 ) and 1100 calories. Not too shabby!!!

My wonderful niece Steph was supposed to come, but, she cried off, didn’t you Steph 😉 No, to be fair, she had to go to a hospital appointment. Shame, I was going to work her to exhaustion on the treadmill. Wednesday Steph, Wednesday – Muhahahahahahaha!!!!

Updates

Right guys. I need a new ‘Health Focused Monthly Mini Project’. The Treadmill climb was mega and NFA8 continues. What next peeps, what next? Ideas, ideas, ideas???!!!??? I know we are a few days in, but, ideas anyway 😀

100PUC is stalling again. I’m supposed to be on week 4, but, I’ve not done Week 3 Day 3 yet – Doh! Let’s see what happens this week hey. Btw, DavidIs(n’t)Fat has been a beast on this. Check him out.

Finally, I’ve updated my ‘The (Semi) Naked Truth’ page with another semi naked picture. If you are at all squeamish, do not, I repeat, do not, go and have a look. Nah, go and have a liddle looky, it’s only fat 😀

Peace out.

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

4:13

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Family, Gym, Healthier Lifestyle, Monthly Mini Project and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Other Gym

  1. I’m with you on the reverse discrimination. Do disabled people pay more a month? … Having said that like you I’d probably feel a little bit bad if I did use it.
    My BF used the disabled toilets in my work when we both worked there. He never felt guilty about it because he said the mens were horrid plus we have 2 disabled toilets per floor in a 3 floor building and only 1 person in the building who’s registered as having a disability …. I could see his point.
    Hoping the new gym has mirrors so you can keep posting your green t pics.

  2. J. says:

    If you buy a leg-brace then you’re taking it too far….

    • K Tobin says:

      If you can pick the leg brace up for free, it might be a sound economic decision. Although a poor morale decision though. 😉
      Paying for the privilege to take a shower though is a little ridiculous, even for a discount gym.

Leave a Reply

