New…

New news…

So, I told ya’ll about the new gym I was considering joining.

The good: How it is literally one minute away from my new job, it’s spread over three floors and has an amazingly cheap ‘off peak’ monthly package of £9.95.

The bad: How you have to sign up to a 12 month (no opt out) contract.

The seriously ugly: How they’ve come to some ridiculous decision to make you pay an extra £1 every time you want  a shower – which fyi, only lasts three minutes. Three minutes, come on guys. I know I’ve lost a lot of my size, but really, can you see me finishing a shower in three minutes. He even kept a straight face when he said it. That must contravene some European directive somewhere.

Anyway, pathetic I say. A £9.95 a month cost could quite easily become £24.95 a month. It’s not close to where I live and I’m not prepared to stink up the train on the way home, or for that matter, the office if I go in early. I decided I couldn’t consider joining if I had to pay for a shower. Unless…

Unless my new bosses in my new job allowed me to use the new shower (well it looks like it’s never been used) in our new department (only three months old) toilet area. Woulda-Coulda-Should they? Will they? Can they?

Too right peeps, yes, “They Can Do It…!” (did you like what I did there 😉 ) and they did – Result!!!

A big thank you to Andy Reeve (my Team Manager) and Lisa Dalgleish (the Department Head) for sorting it out for me today – Come on!!!!!

Why is this such a big deal? Well, the new job has brought new challenges and I needed a new approach to how I maintain my training and fitness regime. I’m in this ‘healthier’ lifestyle for just that – life – so finding a way to incorporate this new gym with my existing, wonderful and amazing, Crosby Lakeside, was really an important new step.

Additionally, I’ve now opened a new door to a new layer of accountability. I’ve been telling my new work mates about what it is I’ve embarked on, so going to this new gym, so close to work, is going to keep me accountable to them too. How good can it get!!!

And finally (I don’t like starting a sentence with ‘and’, is it acceptable? I digress). Also, as a final point (better I suppose) my lovely niece Steph (aka gorgeous girl, aka the one I am eternally indebted too for helping me get this job :-D) has joined as well!!! So now, I have a new gym buddy too!!! Can it get any better? I thought not. Actually no, I suppose it could. Maybe work could actually sponsor me and pay for my membership haha. Nah, the shower will do nicely, for now.

“It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new life for me and…???” Answers below in the comment box or on facebook. Go on I dare you 😀

Btw, two days to weigh day. Don’t forget and guess a loss for the month. Here’s my latest pic (taken tonight at the gym) to help you decide. The scaling of the pictures are a tad uneven, but, you can get the gist (nice word).

06 May - 02 Sept - 29 Sept

Adios amogos,

Paul (Kracker)

“I Can Do It…!” (and in not one, but, two gyms now – Yeah baby!!!)

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Gym, Healthier Lifestyle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New…

  1. Lu says:

    I’m curious about this onepound-threeminute shower. So what happens after 3min? Does someone keep a stopwatch/ timer outside? Does the water stop running after 3min? At least you got that sorted. My guestimate weight loss this month is 8lbs….Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

