Finding My Rhythm

Firstly, how weird is the word rhythm. It looks like it belongs in a Welsh dictionary.

Right okay. So, I’m struggling to post daily and I’m super struggling to comment on other blogs. I know my fellow bloggers are cool about it though and I’ll post as often as I can until I find my welsh looking flow :-D.

What’s the latest on the exercise front?

Well, the gym is 3-4 times per week from 5-6, but, I’m cool with that. I’m hoping to be able to use the shower in work – for those of you who don’t know (how can you not), I got a job!!!!! – and if I can sort that out, I will be able to use a new gym called FitForFree, which has opened literally one minute from work. I want to stay in Lakeside as I have a real emotional attachment to that place now, but, I need to also go somewhere which is more convenient for work.

Check this out though. So, this gym is called FitForFree (yeah right!). It’s a new UK venture, part of a chain established in Holland. I go to the gym, they show me round, I’m liking what I see, I’m digging the monthly package options (£9.95 off peak, £15.95 unlimited fitness, £19.95 unlimited fitness & classes) and then they hit me with the catch(es).

  • The ‘Initial Term’ is 12 months. So if you cancel after a couple of months, tough
  • You have to pay £1 for a shower. Yes you heard me right, pay for a shower. Can I just say that again. You have to pay for a shower. Now, forgive me if you are from another city (or country for that matter) and you get this, but, paying for a shower in a gym is just stupid and I’ve never heard of it before. The rationale I was given by the manager was that they expected “people who live in the area will go home and shower.” Oh really, so, why have you got your gym on the edge of the business community and a massive retail park. I’m not being tight fisted, just look at the numbers. If I’m going four times per week, that’s an extra £16 per month on top of my monthly fee. FitForFree? I think not! FitForHiddenExtra’s more like it!

Hence why I need to be able to use the shower in work 🙂 Hopefully, hopefully. Did I say hopefully, my boss will sort it for me, then I can pay £9.95 for off peak and still continue at Lakeside too. Perfect! I have every faith that Lisa (the boss lady :-D) will sort it out with the powers that be, higher up the food chain – Go Lisa!!!!!

What’s the big deal Paul? Keep going 3-4 times per week to Lakeside. Well, I’ve mentioned before, that now I’m working, I need to establish a work/gym balance, but, it’s more than that, I need to establish a work/gym/family balance. I’m literally seeing my wife and kids for an hour or less a day at the minute. I get home from work, we eat, I go the gym. By the time I get back, the sprogs are in bed and (for the last couple of weeks) Jan has been in work on night shifts. If I bypass the stupid, idiotic, pathetic, ridiculous, probably illegal, FitForFree conundrum (nice word), it will give me more time with the fambo, b.e.a.utiful!

Okay, updates:

  • Health Focused Monthly Mini Project – I’m 531 metres short of my 5000 metre treadmill climb with five days to go. Can I do it? I’ll answer that for you – YES I CAN!!!
  • 100PUC, aka The 100 Push Up Challenge, aka much harder than I realised it would be – I’ve really struggled on week 3 so I’m going to repeat it again this week. Not much else to say about that really. I’ll properly go for it this week, promise.
  • NFA8, aka no food after 8pm – It’s been a struggle because I’ve been going the gym of an evening. Yes I’ve eaten after 8pm a few times this month, but, it’d been meals not snacks. Okay, okay, I’ve had a couple of snacks and a few chocolates 😉 not too bad though, scouts honour *good job I was never a scout*
  • Marina Walks – This, along with my ‘100 Amigos’ project is suffering the most at the mo. I’ll address them though.
  • 100 Amigos – Devo’d (devastated) about this right now. I wanted this completed by the end of September. Not going to happen. I’m not even a third of the way through. I’m going to change the time scale for completion in the next few days. I’m still looking for hats etc if you want to help a poor iron statue. See the page for details.
  • Running Outdoors – Is not really happening at the mo. Lot’s of treadmill runs, but, nothing outdoors. soon to be redressed.
  • Monthly Weigh In – Is only five days away. Excited, but, not that hopeful as this has been a month of change. It’s a good job weight loss is not my focus isn’t it ;-). Jokes aside, if I lose seven pounds I’ll be a happy puppy. I was hoping for 12lbs to get to the a lower BMI category, but, I’ll settle with seven and a drop below 300lbs.

That’s me, how about you?

Laters mash potates (yes I know that potatoes was spelt wrong, it was an executive rhyme decision :-D)

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

“I Can Do It…!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Finding My Rhythm

  1. Sounds like they are the ryanair of the fitness world. Just bizarre to have to pay. As you say if you need to shower it would quickly add up.
    I never shower in my gym but I live 5 mins drive from it and my own is nicer but I’m sure loads of people do.

  2. phat50chick says:

    Ridiculous that they would charge you additional for a shower – I mean isn’t that part of joining a gym? Apparently not and suddenly you’ve doubled your monthly fee if you’re needing a shower. How dare they? I don’t suppose that there is a shower at your office. I know some offices have showers (of course mine doesn’t but it would be nice).

    I go to the gym on my way home from work – it’s a time saver and doesn’t allow me to back out of it. Yes, it pushes dinner back a bit, but it’s just the 2 of us and no kids, so dinner time doesn’t really matter to us. Just wondering if you couldn’t work that in to your routine.

    Keep it up Paul. You WILL figure it out. You sound happy!!

  3. Andie says:

    Those 100 amigos aren’t going anywhere, and we’re not feeling neglected – you focus on YOU & don’t feel like you are letting anyone down. We’re all rooting for you.

  4. davidisfat says:

    Hi Paul, Glad things are going well, and that you’re almost achieving the balance. You’re right about week 3 of the 100puc. I’m repeating it this week as well.

    Good luck,
    David

  5. momfog says:

    Paying for a shower at a gym is just stupid. I can’t believe they can get away with that.

    I know getting an acceptable schedule down is hard when you start a new job. I’m still working on it myself. Good luck!

    BTW, did you know that I gave you two blogging awards? I forgot to contact you. (Sorry.) Anyway, here’s the link to the “Awards Ceremony.”
    http://momfog.com/2011/09/22/blog-awards-thank-you/

  6. Oh yeah…charging for the shower is ridic. Massively ridic. Not even logical. It’s expensive to get in shape, man.

  7. Godiva says:

    I had to laugh reading your shower experience when checking out the new gym.

    I live really close to a McFit. The montlhly fee is only 15 EUR and they are open 24/7 and there you have to pay for every shower as well. However it’s on the fringe of a busy neighbourhood and lot’s of young folks go there and shower home. Sometimes it works out this way. 🙂

    You can do it and life is good!

    Take care 🙂

Leave a Reply

