Training At Night? Hmmm…

Firstly, hi guys, have you missed me? I’ve missed you!!! No blog (or gym) for three days, three days. Not good, but, I’ve had long days, late nights and I’m still settling into my new work/gym routine. Man I love my job!!!!

Anyhoo, I’ve been having to go to the gym late evenings, as I can’t go in the mornings as I’m still not sure what my shifts are going to be 😦 Not to worry though. To be honest, I’ve struggled to go as often as I want and as I’ve already mentioned, tonight’s session was the first time for three days, three days! I’ve not missed the gym for three days since I got serious in May this year 😦 But, like I said, it’s okay, I’m still committed, I’m still focused, it’s just a time management issue and that will be resolved.

What I have realised is that I really dislike going to train after my evening meal. I feel so uncomfortable on a full stomach and tonight, it took me a good 30-40 minutes into my treadmill session before my gut started to ease and I could enjoy the workout. Me thinks a re-think. I’m guessing if I have to train late I’ll have to ease off on the NFA8 (No Food After 8pm) and have my meal after the session. This could be 10pm, but, I think I’d rather eat later than have that horrible uncomfortable feeling whilst exercising.

I’ll update my little mini projects tomorrow. I just wanted to touch base and let you all know I’m still ‘keepin on keepin on’.

I also promise I’ll update comments on the blogs of other wordpress folk soon too. Feel bad about it, but, time is going by so quickly lately. I’ll get there.

In the mean time, shout outs to David (Is Fat), Shonnie, Callie, Keith, J (52Wks52P), Charles, Yoyo, Gymtastic Cyber Babe, Carol, Grumpy, Momfog, Cory, Joie, David (Testing True..), Mark etc etc etc.

Sorry if I missed you fellow blogger 🙂

Big love in the brotherhood.

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

“I Can Do It…!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Training At Night? Hmmm…

  1. pamxyz says:

    Hi Paul, I thought you did really well lasting as long as you did with NFA8. I am not usually home from training until about 8:30. I think you will get into a new routine soon. It may take a few times of shuffling things but you will get there. You could change NFA8 to NSA8 (no snacks after eight). Then you could have you tea (keep it healthy) when you get home from the gym or run.
    Keep up the good work.
    Pam

  2. J. says:

    hey, as someone who can only work out after dinner in the evening (I typically get home and have dinner around 7:30pm – 7:45pm) some ideas:
    1)when doing the weekly planner – plan the heavier stuff for non gym nights. If i have pasta before gym, I need to wait an hour. If I have salad/something light, I can do it almost right after.
    2) try half before half after otherwise if time is tight.
    good luck

  3. Journey 2 perfect body says:

    Do not go to the gym just after you’ve eaten! Believe me, not only you could start puking, you could also develop some serious stomach problems that would take a long time to cure. Double think about your schedule, and please- find an earlier time for your meal. As J told, if you eat something light, you could hop on the treadmill after a short time. For salad, fruits, some light yogurt, etc. it’s ok to start exercising after 20-30 min. If you eat meat or fish- wait at least an hour. If you add some serious stuff (bigger portions, pasta, bread or other complex carbohydrates), you’ll have to wait at least for 2 hours…
    I usually eat an hour before my training session (better be safe than sorry) as I don’t eat heavy in the evenings (and I train in the evenings). And I do eat late in the evening, don’t have other choice. I just make sure I’ll have the same 1-2 hours before my bedtime.
    Believe me, it’s not worth playing with your stomach, I guess stomach problems are not the thing you’d like to develop.

Leave a Reply

