I GOT THE JOB :-D

I just don’t know where to begin.

I think I’ll start by thanking everyone on FaceBook and here in the Blogosphere for all your support, encouragement and love, especially this last 24hrs. I have been overwhelmed, literally, I mean overwhelmed by what you have commented and said.

So, what happened?

Well, I got up early this morning and went for a head clearing, blood circulating, cardio session at the gym. I couldn’t have the car, so I ran to the gym (go me) and when I got there I was only the second person in. I climbed on board my beloved treadmill and hammered out my treadmill climb. I didn’t want to get too exhausted so I climbed 368m. Add yesterday’s 446m (my best yet) and my total now stands at at 2338m (7,670 ft) – Booooom!!!! I walked home, ate a hearty filling breakfast of bacon, eggs and mushrooms, got ready and did some final prep for the interview.

I really don’t know how to explain what happened next. The interview was unbelievable, amazing, a home run, a slam dunk, a thirty yard screamer to the back of the net, it was just everything I could have wanted from an interview.

Firstly, the two managers interviewing me (Lisa and Andy) were two of the loveliest people I could have wished for. They completely put me at ease, didn’t make me feel intimidated or pressured and just gave me the confidence to be myself when I spoke. At no point did I feel as if I needed to impress or push myself, I could just be me. It didn’t feel like an interview, it felt like a chat, like we knew each other and were just talking about work scenarios. I can’t adequately explain, it was like nothing I’ve ever experienced before.

Secondly, the ‘competency based’ questions were great and I could tell they were really happy with my answers. They gave instant feedback and related my answers to similar situations in life or the business. The mood was so positive, I had to pinch myself.

Thirdly, we just talked some more. I was honest with them about the last 18 months, my depression, my feeling like I had nothing to give, my turning point, my ‘healthier’ lifestyle change, my 6+ stone (86+ lbs) weight loss, my ‘getting my life on track’, everything and I could tell they appreciated my honesty. It even got a bit emotional haha.

There was a real sense and feeling of positivity as I left the room and they informed me they would let me know by Monday.

Thirty so minutes later, I was at Grandma’s house. I told her I thought it went well, I put the coffee in the cups and my phone rang. It was Andy. “Paul, I just wanted to let you know we thought you were excellent at interview. We didn’t want to leave you hanging on over the weekend till we gave you our answer, we’d like to offer you the job.”

Inside I was screaming like I’d just won the lottery, but, I tried to calmly yet excitedly thank him and Lisa. I put down the phone and had a dance. Not a dance dance you understand, no, a full on freak dance. I GOT THE JOB!!!!

My phone has been on fire ever since and I just can’t stop smiling and it’s all because of Steph. Please say hello to Steph…

Steph with Paco when he came to visit

Steph is a fantastic young woman, who I have known since she was a kid. In the world of church family (because that is what we are, a family), I see her as my niece. I’m her Uncle Kracker and I love her to bits. She, my friends, was the one who gave me the heads up on the new positions available in her work place, she, my friends, was the one who stuck my CV under her bosses nose and when she discovered a few days later that the position still hadn’t been filled, she, my friends, was the one who pestered her boss some more. Yes, I know I needed to ‘do my thang’ at interview, but, if it were not for Steph, I would never have had an interview in the first place.

Steph, I am greatly indebted to you for what you have done. I really don’t think you can quite ever know or understand just how much this means to me, to Jan and the kids. I needed this so much and you were the conduit, the link, the all important ‘X Factor’ to getting me this opportunity. You are such a special person with a heart as big as a house and as deep and wide as the ocean. God has great things in store for you, I just know it. Plus if I fail miserably at the job, it’s all your fault πŸ˜€ I love you so much Steph, thank you x x x

Back to me… πŸ˜›

So, Ladies and Gentlemen, boys and girls, it is my great pleasure to provide the link to my new employer Enterprise plc. Please have a liddle looky πŸ™‚

My role is a Purchasing Advisor for the Local Govt Division and I will be responsible for procurement (nice word) and purchasing of goods and equipment for numerous Maintenance Teams in the South of England. I start on Monday.

There is so much more I would love to tell you, but, it’s hard to explain. I can’t wait for Monday.

People, I must sleep. You are all amazing peeps and I thank God for you.

Good Night and God Bless,

Paul (Kracker)

“I DID IT…!” πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had β€˜issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that β€˜enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Family, Health, I Can Do It, Mental Health, Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to I GOT THE JOB :-D

  1. davidisfat says:

    Heartfelt congratulations Paul, and wishing you nothing but success in the new post.

    Kindest regards,
    David

    • paulbentley says:

      Thanks David. I’m in a bit of a daze right now. It wasn’t long ago I thought I’d never work again! Now I have a fresh start and a new career with a great company in an industry I would never have imagined being in. An incredible couple of days, just incredible.

  2. Mark78130 says:

    Smiling and praising God across the pond in Texas for you! Congratulations and have an amazing weekend.

    Mark

  3. That is awesome! Congrats!!!

  4. Whoo hoo… you nailed it…. congrats! Best of luck for your first day.

  5. You DID it! I love the way you describe the interview … ‘a home run, a slam dunk, a thirty yard screamer to the back of the net’. Brilliant! Well done, Kracker x

  6. momfog says:

    Congratulations! Sounds like you did great and Thank GOD for our church families. Where would we be without them?

  7. Journey 2 perfect body says:

    Congratulations! To tell the truth, I’ve never been happier for someone who I don’t really know. It seems you got a really nice job and everything is going so well. I’m truly happy for you. Best of luck!

  8. Barbara says:

    Yahoo!!!!!!!!!! That’s Okie for “congratulations!” Wonderful news! God is good!

  9. K Tobin says:

    Great news. Money in the pocket is always a great pick-me-up. Much success with your new employment and balancing your life and healthy life goals. πŸ™‚

  10. Callie says:

    So very happy for you!!! Yeah Paul! and YEAH GOD!!!

  11. Girl worth weighting for says:

    Such happy news! Congrats to you and your family.

  12. J. says:

    Fantastic news Paul! Good for you!

  13. Pam says:

    Oh Paul what fantastic news I am so happy for you. Your new lifestyle is really taking off, it couldnt have happened to a nicer person. Give my love to Jan and the kids. You must be beaming, will be thinking of you on Monday starting the second phase of your lifestyle change. Lots and lots and lots and lots of love and best wishes for you and your family. xxxxxxxxxxx Pam

  14. Cory B says:

    Well done Paul! Good on you mate

  15. paulbentley says:

    Thanks Cory. I’ll so happy right now. I seriously hope this isn’t a dream haha πŸ™‚

  16. Congratulations!! That sounds like an amazing interview πŸ™‚

  17. Leigh says:

    Paul, congrats to you on the new job. I’m so happy for you!

Leave a Reply

