BMI or Not – That is the question

Shal I, shan't I? Will I, won't I?

So, for the month of August, I only set myself a weight loss target of  7 lbs. I lost 16 lbs and smashed it – yay me!!!!

Trying not to get ahead of myself, I thought I would still only set a target of 7 lbs for September. I didn’t want to set myself up for disappointment, plus a 7 lbs loss would take me to 299 lbs and therefore below 300 lbs. That sounded sensible, achievable and a nice milestone. Good thinking Batman!

Yep, that’s me, Mr Sensible, until I checked my BMI…

Now, bare in mind, my BMI used to be 53 and I was classed as ‘Super Morbidly Obese’. See here and here for a couple of old posts about it. Anyway, my BMI has steadily dropped and when I last checked, I was classed as ‘Morbidly Obese’. I did my latest check a couple of days ago and although I am still in the same category, I am only just in it at 41.5. Below 40 is ‘Severely Obese’. A couple of calculations later and I realised that a weight of 294 lbs would drop me down to severely. Do you know where I’m going with this? Yes friends, I’ve decided to go for it. It means a target of 12 lbs for the month not 7, but, what the heck, I’m gonna be happy if I lose 7, why not try for 12 and get a BMI Bonus 🙂

It’s going to be tough, but, I’ve got a couple of little projects on the go (NFA8, 5000m Treadmill Climb) which should help, so let’s see what happens.

At this point, I must apologies. I drew you into this post under the pretext (nice word), the false pretext of asking you a question. This clearly has not been a question as I’ve decided I’m doing it 🙂 Because I feel bad, I’ll ask the question anyway and you can let me know what you think. Bare in mind I’m not going to take your advice haha, but, if I fail miserably, you can always say I told you so Paul, you should have listened.

Question: Guys, tell me, do you think I should adjust my target and try and lose an extra 5 lbs to lower my BMI category?

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

4:13

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to BMI or Not – That is the question

  1. Yes aim high and reach for the stars!!! Plus, you said you are hoping to reach the new milestone so make it official. Stay positive! 😛

  2. Leigh says:

    Paul

    Goals should be:
    1. Meaningful to you
    2. Specific, measurable and have a due date
    3. The right size – you need to stretch but they are attainable
    4. Written down
    5. Posted and reviewed

    My boss has ingrained this in me for 23 years. I do it for business but not for dieting…..however I need to do this now. Thanks for the kick in the pants and hopefully a future post

  3. Leigh says:

    So I forgot the most important part. Yes, go for the 12! Aim high. Always.

  4. Lu says:

    It seems you have set your mind on it already so why not!! Go for it and you will do great. Listen to the wise coach 😉

  5. I say why not aspire to it. You did 16 in August so it’s not a crazy target.

  6. J. says:

    aim high and go for it. and if it’s not september, it will be october for sure.

  7. davidisfat says:

    You CAN do it!

    Regards,
    David

  8. pamxyz says:

    You Know you want it! go get it…..be proud of yourself. 🙂

  9. Andy p says:

    I can see you replacing those scales you smashed up !!! lol
    anything more than 7lb will be a nice bonus ! , one foot in front of the other and you`ll get there mate !!

  10. paulbentley says:

    Haha. Nice one Andy. You are the only one to make that observation. “So Paul, you say you’re not interested in weight loss.” In my defence, I’m still only going to weigh at the end of the month, I’m just going to go for it!!!

  11. Cory B says:

    Paul I have every confidence that you will once again shine and meet this goal and the rest you set. Which reminds me, I should look at that as well lol….

  12. FatGirlUSA says:

    Dedication is the root of accomplishments! So, go for it… Paul, I know you can do it. Bridgette

  13. K Tobin says:

    Go for the 12. It will bring you greater satisfaction when you hit the target.

Leave a Reply

