Unleash The Beast Within

The Beast - Unleashed ๐Ÿ˜€

Grrrrr - Okay maybe more pussy cat

Hi guys.

Here is my latest new, old clothing photo. This tee has been in the wardrobe for a few years, but, it was time to unleash that beast ๐Ÿ˜€

NEW WORKOUTS

I’ve done a couple of new workouts in the gym lately which I’ve used to augment (nice word) my cardio sessions. One is set/rep based and the other is time based. Both sessions courtesy of Chris Mulvaney from Olympic Fitness Coach.

Set/Rep Session

20 x body weight squats
20 x single arm kettle bell swings (10 each arm)
10 x clean & press (bar bell 20k)
08 x push ups

2 minutes rest and repeat
Do this 3-4 times (3-4 laps)

Time Session

Do each of these exercises for 20 seconds one after the other without rest

Body weight squats
Lateral pull downs (25k)
Squat thrusts (single leg pump)
Push ups
Upright row (10-15k)
Burpees

2 minutes rest and repeat
Do this 3 times (laps)

Both of these circuits are short but great! With the second one (the Timed Session) you only actually do six minutes of exercise if you do three laps. Six minutes, incredible! I promise you though, you will be knackered!

UPDATES

NFA8 – is still go go go. I’m not actually suffering at all and I’m thrilled that I am not consuming lots of ’empty’ calories. I think writing my blog is really helping here though. Basically, once I’ve eaten my evening meal, within about an hour or two, I settle down to blog. This usually takes up my time till bed, so I’m occupied. Very helpful.

100PUC – is in week two. Today was day one week two. For the final set, you have to do as many push ups as you can. My stats for each days final set are currently 10,14,15,19. Nineteen! Today I did 19 pushups. Next session is Wednesday and I’m hoping for 20.

5000m Treadmill Climb – currently stands at 1096m done over three sessions. This is a great little task and my calorie burns have been in excess of 1000 calories each session.

Rivers to Cross – I’ve updated my ‘Rivers’ page with some new achievements. I’ve lost over 80 lbs, I can do 15 push ups (a tad more actually as you already know :-)) and I’m wearing 4XL (occasionally 3XL).

People of the blogosphere, that’s me for tonight. Time to catch up on some of the blogs I read. Yes that includes yours ๐Ÿ˜‰

Bye for now. Be good and if you can’t be good – REPENT ๐Ÿ˜€

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

“I Can Do It…!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK โ€“ I have always had โ€˜issuesโ€™ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that โ€˜enough is enoughโ€™ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so Iโ€™ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Unleash The Beast Within

  1. Cory B says:

    You are an inspiration sir, love your blog with its unbridled enthusiasm

  2. davidisfat says:

    Great additions to your workout regimen, and congrats on the push-up challenge. You seem to be progressing nicely.

    Regards,
    David

    • paulbentley says:

      Thanks David. Yeah, they are both good little workouts and add to the cardio nicely. Very pleased with the push ups. Still seems like an impossible jump from 19 to 100 in just over four weeks, but, I’m gonna go for it ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. J. says:

    Awesome updates.

  4. phat50chick says:

    So Upbeat!!! Thanks for the inspiration!!

  5. Callie says:

    Good job! I need to get back at it. Keep it up!

  6. Lookin’ good! I need to seriously get some type of formal workout thing going!
    Keep up the good work!
    julie

    • paulbentley says:

      Ask at your gym, you may find there is a really helpful instructor. All of the various little circuits I’ve tried have been given to me by one of the gym instructors. I’m lucky because he is really helpful and is happy to give his time. You can do it Julie. Let me know how you get on ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. K Tobin says:

    Paul, do you must have the biggest closet. Congrats on the fitting the old t-shirt, again.
    Great progress on the 100PushUp challenge. I have slipped into a nice groove with mine. Keep up the great work.

    • paulbentley says:

      Thanks Keith. All these tee shirts are presents I’ve been bought by well intended family members over the years haha. Plenty more to go ๐Ÿ™‚

      Re 100PUC, I was thrilled with 19 on Monday. Just completed Wk 2 Day 2 today and I could only do 17 in final set ๐Ÿ˜ฆ So frustrating, I really thought I’d get 20 today!

      All good though, even 17 is great progress!

Leave a Reply

