Do’s & Don’ts

Decisions, decisions...

So I asked you kind people of the interweb and blogosphere to help me decide what my next ‘Health Focused Monthly Mini’ was going to be. It could be a ‘Do’, something to add to my new lifestyle, or, it could be a ‘Don’t’, which by definition and the process of elimination, is something to remove from my new lifestyle.

Here are the runners and riders:

Don’t

  • No Bread
  • No White Bread
  • No White Pasta/Rice
  • No Fizzy Drinks (soda)
  • No Diet Fizzy Drinks
  • No Beer
  • No Artificial Sweeteners
  • No Butter/Margarine
  • No Chocolate

Do

  • Run 15 miles per week (inc warm up runs, long runs and intervals)
  • Climb 5,000 metres only using the Treadmill or Cross Trainer
  • Drink 64oz of water per day (I adapted this to 2 litres 70oz)
  • Only eat fruit before midday

A massive thank you to those who contributed with ideas, but, there can only be one winner and so, as Simon Cowell says, I’ve made my decision… I’m going too…

Climb 5,000 metres on the Treadmill 🙂

It was a close call with three vying (nice word) for the September top spot. I really fancied removing soda or artificial sweeteners from my diet (diet as in my food intake, not diet as in ‘diet industry’ *spit*), but, I don’t actually drink a lot of soda and no artificial sweeteners would be really difficult to do properly. Seriously, have you seen how many foods stuffs, brands etc artificial sweeteners are in, it’s ridiculous.

Anyway, so yeah, climb 5,000 metres is our winner (thank you Chris Mulvaney of Active Sefton and Olympic Fitness Coach).

I’m going to add this to NFA8 (which I intend to continue) and the 100PUC which I’ve also started this month.

Now that’s what I call a good September.

Here is a question for you.

Undoubtedly (also a nice word), I’m doing okay when it comes to the changes I have made in my life. I exercise, I’m active, I ‘think’ about what I eat. The mirror and my clothes show me I’m doing okay. Other people and the weighing scales *spit* tell me I’m doing okay. When it comes to food, I consider portion size, I stay away (for the most part) from fried/junk foods, biscuits, cakes etc and I’m ‘aware’ of fats, carbs and calories.

Do I need to actively ‘remove’ more bad foods from my diet yet?

I have a problem with the concept of ‘removing’. Even if I think of it as ‘replacing’, I still see it as a very negative concept. I’m not stupid, I’m conscious that, if I’m serious about ‘lifestyle change’, I need to remove the poisons and the additives. I need to replace the bad fats and carbs with the good. Do I need to do it now though?

I’m enjoying my journey and I think one of the reasons why, is that, I don’t feel like I am denying myself anything. This has got to be one of the most common reason why people on diet industry diets *spit* fall off the wagon. The constant battle with wanting what you’re not supposed to have.

At the moment, I can handle do’s and I’m fearful of don’ts and that’s why I’ve chosen from the do list for September. My new ‘healthier’ lifestyle is good. It’s not a bind, a chore, a pain in the *ss or a necessary evil and I never want it to become any of those things.

Speak forth your wisdom peeps. What say ye?

+++NEWSFLASH+++NEWSFLASH+++ I forgot to mention I have updated the photographs on my ‘The (Semi) Naked Truth’ page. Go look and tell me what you think. If you ask me, the moobs are looking flabbier  😀

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Diet, Fitness, Healthier Lifestyle, Healthy Eating, Monthly Mini Project and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Do’s & Don’ts

  1. K Tobin says:

    Paul, you are going to be very busy this month. Good luck on your new challenge. A 5000 meter (or 3 mile, for us on this side of the pond) treadmill climb seems impressive. Is that climb in one go?
    In regards to the “Do” and “Don’t”, I am with you. It is much harder to remove something from your daily life instead of doing something on a regular basis. It is a personal decision though based upon your on life and goals.

    • Andy p says:

      Your right not to make too many food changes at once , a small change periodically will benefit you in the future ! as you approach your target wieght it gets harder to lose those unwanted pounds,,, and by then you will have made some life long healthy choices which will help you immensely. NFA8 is huge!! and obviously working , keep going wi thed down, your doing brill !!!

    • paulbentley says:

      Thanks Keith. Yeah you are right, it is a personal decision and rest assured I will be applauding you from the wings re the soda challenge. Maybe I’m taking the easier option, but, maybe it’s just a different option 🙂 For now anyway, it’s what is working for me. Once I get a job (one day soon hopefully) I’m sure I’ll have to reassess everything.

      With regard to the climb, no, it’s not in one go, it’s over the month, so about 1,250 metres (4,101 ft) per week. If I spend an hour on the Treadmill, I usually climb about 150 metres, so this challenge means me upping the incline to about 10% for a chunk of that hour. Two days in and I’ve done nearly 700 metres 🙂 I decided to go hard for a few days so I can have some easy sessions as well. It’s a great workout!

      I did day 2 of 100PUC yesterday haha. It’s gonna be fun getting to that 100!

      Thanks as ever for your input and support.

      Kracker

Leave a Reply

