Bits & Bobs

Firstly – Very excited. Monthly weigh day tomorrow *giddy school boy dance*. What do you think people? How much do you think I’ve lost? Yes, yes, I know this goes against everything I ‘profess’, but, for one day a month, I’m allowed, okay? Okay! So, I refer the honourable reader to question two, how much do you think I’ve lost? Just to help…

Here I am at the end of July:

End of July

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here I am today at the end of August:

End of August

 

 

 

 

 

 

And…

Here I am as a puppy dog:

Doesn't really help but you gotta like puppies πŸ˜€

Yeah I know, the puppy doesn’t really help, but, you know I look cute and you want to rub my tummy. Girls only btw, girls only πŸ˜‰

Comment below with your guess-timate. Come on, just a bit of fun, I won’t be offended πŸ™‚

Secondly – NFA8 is fast drawing to a close. Thanks to those of you who commented yesterday with ideas for a Health Focused Monthly Mini (HFMM) for September. I’d appreciate some more before I make my decision, so, suggestions below, more smiles πŸ™‚

Thirdly – Kind of connected to the above, as well as doing my own HFMM I’m going to join fellow blogger Keith Tobin on the 100 Push Ups Challenge. He blogged about it yesterday and I thought, now that sounds like a good challenge. From zero to 100 push ups in six weeks. Anyone else?

Fourthly – Take a look at my youngest son Matt. He recently joined the Air Cadets (RAF) and we bought his ‘greens’ today. Time flies (pun intended, air cadets, flying, boy I’m funny :-)). He is thirteen and definitely not a little boy any more 😦

Atten.....tion!!!!!!

Isn’t he handsome? We are not what you would call a ‘military family’, but, Matt has taken to this like a duck to water. It’s going to be so good for him, wish him luck.

And finally – Wish me luck for tomorrow πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

“I Can Do It…!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had β€˜issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that β€˜enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Goals, Healthier Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Bits & Bobs

  1. Mark78130 says:

    Looks like a big difference from the pictures. I’ll put the over/under at 12 lbs and take the over, LOL. Can’t wait to see how you did.

    Good looking young man you have there. Sounds like he has his head on straight.

    See you tomorrow!
    Mark

    • paulbentley says:

      Thanks Mark. If I was offered 12 lbs I’d take it πŸ™‚

      He certainly is a good looking young man (his Mums genes) and yes I think his head is good and straight too.

      I’ll blog the results as soon as I have them.

  2. davidisfat says:

    Hi Paul,
    The change in appearance is incredible for one month; I’m going to say 15-18 lbs. I am looking forward to seeing the results. I’ll be starting the 100 pushup challenge next week (test on Sunday, and start routine on Monday).

    Good luck in good health,
    David

  3. Shonnie says:

    OK Kracker man, I think, given you are wearing two different shirts one darker and one lighter, that you have lost a minimum of 5 pounds and maybe 10 to 15. You look a good deal smaller in your face, that is what I am going on–if I have to pic an exact number I would say you look like you are down 10 pounds–size wise looks more–but that is weight training for you.

    Hoping with you for a GREAT weigh in.

    • paulbentley says:

      Thanks Shonnie. Good observation re the different colour shirts. I’m sure the black helps. I’d take 10, heck I’d even take 5. No, I’m lying, I’d be disappointed with 5 haha.

  4. Your training sensei here lol. I am going to guess that you have lost either:-
    a) 10.65 lbs
    b) 13lbs OR
    c) 16.5 lbs

    There is a reason I have chosen them, though given my lack of success on lottery lines, Im probably a stone out! :/

    As for a new monthly challenge, I personally think you should do either: –
    a) no bread for a month
    b) no beer for a month
    c) run 15 miles a week (in separate sessions, e.g. 3 miles continuously one day, 3 x 1 mile intervals another etc)
    OR
    d) climb 15000m by the end of the month using just treadmill and X-Trainer.

    • paulbentley says:

      10.65 lbs, now that’s what I call precise sensei haha. I’m digging all those numbers though – Come on!!!!

      Love, love, love the challenge ideas. A good mix of denial and inclusion projects. Real food for thought. Decisions, decisions…

      Thanks for the feedback dude πŸ™‚

  5. J. says:

    I’m gonna go with 10-12. The old shot was clearly post workout, so there’s definitely a change in the face, but can’t decide if it’s weight or heat. good luck tomorrow! I’m sure it’s going to be an excellent result whatever the final number is.

    • paulbentley says:

      They are both post workout, it’s just that the photo today was also after my stretch (30 minutes). I think the black helps too.

      Thanks for the support J.

      Also, I’m looking forward to me, you and David joining Keith in the 100 Push Ups Challenge πŸ™‚ My friend from the gym is also joining us.

      Let’s do it!!!!

  6. Andy p says:

    Im gonna say 11lb off ! at this rate thier wont be a tummy to rub !!! puppy dog !
    Here`s a challange for you ,,,, add up the pounds you`ve lost so far and carry that with you for 24hrs !

    • paulbentley says:

      Woof woof!!!!

      I’m liking your number brother, 11 lbs would be coolio!

      I’m liking the ‘mini’ Mini Project. I just might do that one anyway.

      Thanks for the feedback mate. See you tomorrow.

      • J. says:

        Alive once again ( link is on my blog roll ) tried that a few weeks ago (in slightly more alcohol involved way). Wasn’t pretty (tho he was doing all cardiovascular no weights). Fun read tho.

  7. jess0135 says:

    I’m going with 12 lbs. There is definitely a noticeable change. Great work!

    • paulbentley says:

      Thanks, I’d take 12 lbs !!!!

      Getting scared now, most people are saying 10+, it’s a cert for disappointment, what have I done – Noooooooo!

      Haha, if I’m honest, I know I’ve lost (some) weight. I’m seeing and feeling changes, others are seeing changes. It’s all good in the hood πŸ˜€

      Thanks for the comment and support.

  8. K Tobin says:

    Eight pounds would be a safe bet, but the different shirt types are deceptive. I will go with 15 pound difference for the month. It is a big number, but it would be a sweet result. πŸ™‚
    Also, way to go on joining the 100PushUP Challenge. The more the merrier.

  9. kitchentutor says:

    I’m terrible at guessing… I’ll go with 13, cause that’s a lucky number πŸ˜‰ I have tried and unfortunately failed the 100 push up challenge about… oh 4 times!! Ah!!! It is really great and I hope to some day concur it. Maybe I’ll start it again sometime next March πŸ™‚

  10. I Want to be the Biggest Loser says:

    Kracker (can I call you that?), look at the difference in those photos!! I’m going to stake a guess at 10-15 lbs. You’ve been so dedicated and devoted in your training, you’re motivating me!

    I will try the 100 push up challenge, but I have a wrist problem, and can’t push down on it. But, I’ll try! πŸ˜‰

    • I am no physiotherapist but I am Paul’s personal trainer. I would suggest doing push ups with ‘push up bars’ which allow for a straight wrist. When you put your hand flat on the floor you “hyperextend” your wrist joint, and when you do this to most joints it’s a precursor to injury or suffering. If you are getting any sort of pain, whether it’s a stabbing pain or an ache, I would see your GP or a physio and get a professional opinion via them first. Good luck, Chris.

    • paulbentley says:

      Of course you can call me Kracker πŸ˜€

      If your wrists hurt, check what Chris has said. If you try that and still no joy, don’t sweat it, you’re doing great anyway!!!!

  11. Wow you are looking great, I look forward to seeing your results! I would guess around 10-15 pounds!!

Leave a Reply

