I Did It – Scafell Pike (The highest mountain in England)

The start of the walk up Scafell Pike, although photo taken at the end of the walk πŸ™‚

Firstly. My internet connection went down last night, just before I posted. So, please read yesterdays post before you read this. It was only short and I was really excited. Or, don’t bother and just read this haha πŸ™‚

“Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah
Hallelujah, Halle-lu-jah”

It doesn’t quite come across properly, but, that was me singing the Hallelujah Chorus πŸ˜€

Friends, Romans, Countrymen, Bloggers – I SCALED SCAFELL PIKE, which, as you may have noticed in the title, is the highest mountain in England at 3,209 ft (978 metres). I did it!!!!

Like I said yesterday, that is now ‘two down (up), one to go!’ Ben Nevis, look out, I’m coming to get you!!!!

I have had a, quite simply, amazing day. It was forecast for rain, but instead, we had glorious sunshine. Oh, how rude of me, I said we. Let me take this opportunity to introduce you to:

Chris Mulvaney

Chris is the one who doesn't look exhausted after only 20 minutes

Chris is ex Army Military Police, is a fitness instructor at my gym and runs Olympic Fitness Coach. He very kindly offered to make this trip with me and I am, extremely grateful, for his company and expertise on the mountain. Chris, you rock and – WE DID IT!!!!!

So, yes, we had glorious sunshine all the way up the ascent, some cloud descended up top (but not too bad) and lovely cloud covered coolness on the descent. It was perfect weather conditions, just perfect.

It was more difficult than Snowdon (although not as high) as the climb was much more severe, but, it felt easier, sorry, what I meant to say was, because of my ever increasing fitness level, I was able to cope better with the severity πŸ™‚

At one point (the scree face at Mickledore), I really surprised myself with how I coped,Β  scrambling up ‘hand and foot’. Guys, I cannot express in words the feeling of accomplishment and exhilaration when I clambered above the top edge at Mickeldore. We still had some way to go to the summit at that point, but, I felt amazing.

If I’m honest, I found the final part of the ascent, really hard, we were almost there, but, what was ahead of us looked daunting. Like any good blogger, I forget to take a photo of this section. To be fair, I was knackered πŸ™‚

When we reached the top, I really couldn’t believe it.

Is this real? Am I really at the summit of the highest mountain in England? In a word... YES!!!!

Me, fat lad, at the summit of the highest mountain in England. A climb I was so excited about, yet, quite apprehensive of. I’d heard that the scramble section was difficult. Will I make it, or will I have to turn back and take the easier route? I did it and then I made the final rocky ascent to the summit.

I did it. Here is my favourite photo of the day:

I think I look quite trim here, obviously a flattering camera angle helps, but hey... πŸ˜€

If I can do feats like this in just four months… You know what I’m going to say, don’t you? “If I can do it, YOU CAN DO IT. If you agree with me, please write, “I Can Do It…!” in the comment box. See photos below.

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

“I Did It…!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had β€˜issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that β€˜enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Hiking, Outdoors, The Great Outdoors, Walking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to I Did It – Scafell Pike (The highest mountain in England)

  1. Shonnie says:

    I Can Do It! πŸ™‚ Paul, this looks like a GREAT DAY! Lovely scenery! If I make it to England, will you take me there? πŸ™‚ Maybe by then we could do all three in a day! hehehe! πŸ˜€

  2. davidisfat says:

    Congrats Kracker! I can do it. Really nice photos, and your face is looking allot stronger.

    Good luck in good health,
    David

  3. K Tobin says:

    Great job on your latest ascent! πŸ™‚
    Soon you will heading for Mt. Everest.

  4. Congrats to you!!!! That is a great accomplishment!
    I can do it!!! I’m looking at some winter 5Ks around here…contemplating

  5. Congrats! The pics are awesome. My grandparents immigrated from England, makes me want to go explore it!

  6. Helen says:

    I CAN DO IT πŸ™‚
    Kracker I soooooo proud of you. You are an amazing inspiration. Keep it up dear, you’re doing real good. πŸ™‚

  7. I CAN DO IT. Congrats. Looks like it was a really great day. Not only did you climb the highest mountain in England you did it alongside an ex army man.

  8. mark78130 says:

    I can do it! Next time, when you get to the top, sing a chorus of Climb Every Mountain from the Sound of Music! Weigh to go. πŸ˜‰

    Mark

  9. kitchentutor says:

    Woooohoooo!!! Amazing!! What beautiful scenery to climb to as well!

  10. I Want to be the Biggest Loser says:

    I CAN DO IT!!!! πŸ™‚ Thanks for all the motivation!

Leave a Reply

