Mind Games

As my dentist Mr Woo used to say, "Pain all in the mind..."

So, as you all know, I get weighed once a month. This is deliberate, because, as you all know, I don’t want ‘getting weighed’ to dominate my thoughts. From reading other blogs (yes yours :-)), my way is a lot different to most people, but, it works for me and that’s what’s important. The problem is, it works until there is about 10 days or so to go until the end of the month, then, I start to ever so slightly obsess. I’d be lying if I said weight loss isn’t important to me, of course it is, it’s just that, not getting weighed very often, really helps me not to obsess  ‘all the time,’ instead, I obsess ‘some of the time.’  🙂

 

So now, the mind games and the questions have begun.

Q: Have I had a ‘good’ month
Q: I wonder if I’ve lost more than last month
Q: Did my Birthday Week really damage my chances of a good loss
Q: Although I’m going to have a decent net loss, I wonder how much more I could have lost if I’d have trained more/eaten better
Q: Shall I put a really big week in at the gym to bump up my net loss
Q: What am I going to do if it’s a really small loss

Etcetera, etcetera, etcetera.

You know what, it doesn’t matter how ‘sorted’ you feel with regard to your new lifestyle/new journey/new path, weight loss gremlins are never too far away, waiting to mess with your head.

So, this is my life for the next few days now. Fighting off the weight loss gremlins. Reaffirming new truths about new me. Reminding myself of my new thinking. Reminding myself of how far I’ve come and how different I am. Playing down the importance of ‘how many pounds I’ve lost’ in comparison to the bigger picture of ‘how many years living I’ve gained’ and I continue to gain through ‘healthier’ living choices.

I’m due to get weighed next week Wednesday. It’s gonna be a long week 🙂

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

If “I Can Do It…!” You can do it!!!!

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Mind Games

  1. Callie says:

    I really admire your ability to go a month between weigh-ins. I have never done well going longer than 10 days therefore I weigh every week. I am sure you will find wonderful results when your weigh-in rolls around. You have been working hard! God rewards our efforts! Keep it up!

    • paulbentley says:

      Amen and Hallelujah! Hope so. Monthly is perfect for me. I know if I’m doing well or bad by monitoring my ‘elbow function’ 🙂 If I’ve had a bad couple of days, I really don’t need the scales confirming it by saying, “look, I told you, you are just going back to your old ways.”

  2. I could never go that long…yes, I obsess…not gonna lie!!! LOL!!! I am weighing daily right now ((just once per day not like a 10 times per day obsession or anything) it helps me keep my actions in check. I will eventually stretch it out to weekly.

    You are doing a fantastic job and you have a great attitude! Keep it up!
    Julie

    • paulbentley says:

      Yeah, ‘different horses for different courses’ I guess. I couldn’t handle a daily weigh. I’d be up and down emotionally and it would affect my day too much. I don’t take negatives too well, so if I’d gained I’d want to hit the food.

      Thanks for your encouragement!

  3. Shonnie says:

    I could never go that long without weighing. I would lose my mind! Seriously. Things for me can change faster than lightening — so I would be panicing. You will me on my mind for the next week hoping with you for peace in your tortured soul. 🙂

  4. Janet says:

    I used to weigh in daily but got to a point where I plateaued and I just couldn’t take the daily affirmation of plateauing any longer and then I shifted to weekly weigh ins. I am loosing slowly so monthly weigh ins wouldn’t work for me either I guess. It would drive me crazy having one month in mind and then “only” having lost 3 or 4 lbs within that month. At the moment I am fine with 1 lbs loss a week, (since I have plateaued for two month) which amounts up to the same weight loss in a month but still, nah, I would be too insecure, can’t do that yet. 😉 One day…

  5. Barbara says:

    Good for you for not being scale obsessed. I check mine way too often but I don’t worry about the daily fluctuations, just the weekly average. I can easily gain 6-8 pounds in a week if I throw caution to the wind though so I could never go a month without weighing!

  6. pamxyz says:

    I think the once a month is great. Keeps you in check and allows you to concentrate more on what matters ………a healthy, and happy lifestyle. I do not own a set of scales and only get weighed about once a year when I need a medical certificate from the doctor for a french race. Use the naked jump test.YOU know when you’ve put weight on.

  7. davidisfat says:

    Kracker,

    Just know that what you’re doing is working for you in all respects. You are dropping body fat like a madman, and your running speed and endurance have increased phenomenally. The scale is but a minor reinforcement of what you’re seeing in the mirror and feeling in your heart. Your efforts and results are truly inspirational.

    Good luck in good health,
    David

  8. Godiva says:

    Lol I love your idea of weight-loss-gremlins! Though I do weigh-in weekly I actually am mostly looking forward being able to wear a smaller size as I already have a dress I wanna wear in my daily life and at the moment it is just a teeny weeny little bit too tight. *g*

Leave a Reply

