Some Updates

The latest news stories from your local radio station PK 224 ICDI

Extra, extra, read all about it!

Thanksgiving Week – This last week was set aside (by my church), as a week of Thanksgiving. It was a time for our church family to come together and just praise God for His goodness and favour. As a church, we’ve had a pretty rough 17 months.

In March 2010, a dear brother died in a work related accident on the church premises. Unfortunately, what followed was a particularly difficult Police and Health & Safety Investigation in to the reason why. It was tough, with individuals and the organisation facing possible charges. Thanks be to God, the case was closed in July 2011 and no charges were laid individually or corporately. Finally, we could grieve the loss of our brother and move forward. We decided to dedicate seven days to give thanks and it’s been wonderful.

You may think this has nothing to do with my ‘healthier’ lifestyle, but, it has everything to do with it. My family had it’s own struggles during this same period (my job loss etc) and there was a sense that together, with the church, we were going through a real period of testing and change. For all I know, if it wasn’t for my troubles of the past year or so, I may never have embarked on this ‘healthier’ lifestyle journey at all. One thing I do know is this, all things work together for good!

Parkrun 5k – I’m still buzzing off my new PB of 33:45 which was some 10:56 faster than my very first 5k time of 44:41 just over two months a go. Boy, we are capable of so much. I’m starting to realise that it’s our minds that really hold us back. Sub 30 minutes is definitely achievable. Watch this space.

It’s my Birthday – Oh yeah people, on Tuesday I’ll be cruising into 43 and what a different Birthday it will be. Weather permitting, we will be embarking on our walk up Snowdon, which is the highest mountain in Wales. Me, walking up a mountain ha! This time last year, check out below what I was happy about.

Happy Birthday to me 🙂

The thing is, I’m not even at my biggest in this photo. Over the next few months, I got hit with depression and about another 28 lbs.

No, this year, it’s all change, starting with a new me.

Me in my latest ill fitting clown suit.

Yep that’s me in the suit that is far too big, 70lbs lighter, with a much better attitude and outlook. I only wore this suit once and it was to sing with the BBC Big Band. I was bursting out of it at the time.

Of course I’m going to have some Birthday food challenges. A curry house on Monday and a meal at my cousins on Thursday to name two, but, I’m strangely optimistic and I honestly don’t think I’m going to ‘hammer’ it.

Health Focused Mini Project – I’m still not eating after 8pm for the month of August. I call the project NFA8, pretty self explanatory, so, it’s officially ‘Day 14 – NFA8’ and all is well. I think I’m feeling the benefit of it. I feel less bloated and in a way, it’s helping me with my cravings. I had a bad month in July with regard to cravings. Chocolate, biscuits, cakes. You name it, I craved it, but now, in August, knowing I can’t eat after 8pm seems to have dealt with any cravings. The thought process seems to go like this. “Oh I could really eat a Mars Bar right now or a packet of Jaffa Cakes. Hang on, what time is it? Ahh, it’s 9.30pm. Shame, never mind, I can’t eat after 8pm.” Honestly, literally, that’s it, craving over! Usually, well, you know what it’s like, it’s a full on fight not to raid the cupboards or the fridge, right. Now though, there is no point. I seem to have subconsciously accepted that I’m NOT eating after 8pm. Genius, why didn’t I think of this sooner?

Base Layers – I may have told you this already (I’ve no idea how to trace it in my past posts), but, I have discovered the wonderment that are Base Layers.

Say goodbye to chafe and hello to sweet relief 🙂

If you run, you MUST check these out, no more inner thigh chafe at all. I’m still too fat for a base layer top, but, the end of nipple chafe is nigh. Muhahahahahaha!!!

That’s me, how about you? Are you looking forward to anything this week or in the next few weeks? I’m going to have a great Birthday week, I just know it. Till next time…

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

Repeat after me… “I Can Do It…!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Some Updates

  1. mark78130 says:

    Looking good, Paul! Have a happy birthday!

  2. Happy Birthday. Hope the weather stays good for you.

  3. K Tobin says:

    Happy Birthday.
    I am having the same problem. Social eating at several parties has sidelined me for the past few days, but we can’t be perfect everyday.

  4. You’re looking great in your ‘clown suit’. Happy Belated Birthday!

    On the top right hand column of your blog is a ‘search’ feature – type in base layer and there is only one post that mentions it.

  5. ggardner21 says:

    compression shorts rule!!!

Leave a Reply

