Marca Personal [3]

I’ve not been able to attend the Parkrun 5k for a few weeks, so I was pretty excited about attending today.

Excited Paul!?! Don’t you mean anxious and dreading it? If you’ve not ran it for a while, surely you were worried?

Well, I did have some trepidation I admit, but, even though I’ve not done a Parkrun, I’ve still been running at Lakeside and elsewhere, so I was feeling good. I was excited for one reason and one reason only though, I wanted a new PB!

I went to bed early (hence no post yesterday) and as I lay in my bed, I was trying to work out what my usual pace is and what kind of pace I would need for a new PB.

Here’s what I thunk.

Although my fastest Parkrun 5k is 37:07, I have ran a 5k in just over 36 minutes. Bare with me here as I show you the math, although not entirely accurate.

A 36 minute 5k (3 miles) gives me a 12 minute mile. The Parkrun 5k is 3 laps. So, 3 laps, 3 miles, 12 minutes a lap. A 12 minute lap/mile means I run at 5 miles an hour.

I needed to do each lap (or at least one lap) in less than 12 minutes to hit a new PB. To do that I needed to up my speed to about 6mph.

Here’s what happened.

** New PB ** New PB ** New PB ** New PB ** New PB **

Yes people, the fat lad did it again, with a new Parkrun PB of 33:45 – Ohhhhhhhhh Yeeeeeaaaahhhhhhhh!!!!!!!

Did you hear that peeps, sorry, I mean, did you read that peeps? That’s Thirty Three Minutes and Forty Five Seconds or 33:45 for short 🙂 🙂 Not only was the time great, but, I was really happy with how I ran the race. I over took three people and that included someone on the home straight whilst I did a big sprint finish – Boom!!!!!!!

Guys I am absolutely thrilled with my performance and I’m so grateful to Jan (the unbelievably much better half) and Brian, for coming to cheer me on. It was actually Jan who gave me the belief to take my final overtake. With about half a mile to go, she ran up to me and said, “that woman up ahead of you is absolutely knackered, you can take her.” I was about 50 yards behind at this point and I didn’t think I could reach her. I dug deep, tried to pick it up and I did it – Yeah baby!!!!

I’ve just had a look back in past posts. I ran my first 5k on the 3rd June and the time was 44:41. So, in just over two months I’ve knocked 10:56 off my time. I really can’t believe it, but, it’s true.

Life change is real. Life change is achievable. If I can do it, I know, you can do it too 🙂

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

4:13

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle, Personal Best, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Marca Personal [3]

  1. cbailey74 says:

    You da man Paul!! I am so happy for you. Congratulations!

  2. davidisfat says:

    Felicitaciones Amigo!

    Cuidate,
    David

  3. K Tobin says:

    Way to go, Paul! A ten minute time reduction is quite impressive. Keep it up, maybe next year you’ll be doing a 4-minute mile [ 🙂 ] Okay, on your way to a 4-minute mile.

  4. That’s great Paul! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

