God Bless Iowa (and Laura)

"Our liberties we prize and our rights we will maintain" - IOWA

The blogosphere is a wonderful place.

It’s a world within a world, within a world (blog world, internet world, physical world) where you can make new and wonderful connections with people, from the comfort of your own home/office via your pc (or mac). On occasion though, someone reaches out beyond blogspace and touches you in the flesh.

Every so often I put a little request in my blog post, asking people to consider sending me an item of clothing (hat, scarf etc) for one of the Iron Men in my ‘100 Amigos’ project. On Wednesday (3rd August) I got a package in the mail. Excitedly, I opened the box to discover a beautiful baseball cap all the way from Iowa. I had received my first Iron Man gift!!!!

Howdy neighbour!!!!

I am absolutely thrilled, stoked, chuffed and just ‘made up’ to have received it and I am so grateful to Laura from Kitchentutor for sending it to me. Thanks Laura, you are no longer just a passage of text on a screen. Thanks to you, a little part of Iowa has become part of my journey to a ‘healthier’ lifestyle. You rock girl!!!

I’ve been waiting for a break in the (unpredictable) weather to take the photo and today was the day. So Laura, the Kitchentutor from the great State of Iowa, this picture is dedicated to you.

Iron Man no29

No29 - Hat sent from Iowa by Laura / Kitchen Tutor http://www.kitchentutor.wordpress.com

Yes they are all naked, that's why I need the clothes for them 🙂

It even looks good on me!!!!

Why Iron Man no29?

Good question. Well, as Jan and I were walking to the beach to take the photo, we wondered what number State, Iowa was in the Union. A google search or two later and we discovered it was number 29. The search was on. We had to find Iron Man no29 in honour of Iowa. It took a while, but, we found him 🙂

If you have not checked out my ‘100 Amigos’ Project, please do so and why don’t you (like Laura from Iowa) send me something to take a photograph with. It doesn’t have to be clothing, although they are very much in need of something to wear, it can be anything.

Comment me on the blog and I’ll email you my address. Go on, you know you want too 🙂 I look forward to hearing (and receiving :-)) from you soon!

Oh and just in case you are wondering what on earth this project has got to do with a ‘healthier’ lifestyle, it was about a three mile walk finding no29. Now that’s good exercise baby!!!

GOD BLESS IOWA !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Adios amigos – especially mi amiga Laura / Cocina Maestra,

Paul (Kracker)

“I Can Do It…!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to God Bless Iowa (and Laura)

  1. Callie says:

    Hi Paul, I just talked to my cousin Laura (giver of ball cap). I asked her if she saw this post. She has not! They are in the middle of moving and is with out internet for at least another week.She was super excited to hear that you got the cap and that Iron Man 29 was proudly wearing it.
    Keep up the good work paul. Do it to glorify God, seek first His kingdom, and all else will be added unto you by Him.
    Callie

    • paulbentley says:

      Hi Callie. Yeah I guessed she still had web problems because of the move. I’ve emailed her to let her know the hat was received and the photo taken. Hopefully she will find it once she is online again.

      Thanks for your kind words. Our God is great!!!

  2. kitchentutor says:

    Ahhhh!!!!! I love it!!!! So excited to be back online but even more excited to see that the hat made it to you!!! It looks great on the Iron Man and you 🙂 How clever too of you and your wife to think of putting it on number 29!! Very cool!! I’m glad to be part of your project and happy to cheer you on in your journey!! I hope you’re doing well and know we’re cheering you on here in little ole Iowa 🙂 God bless!!

    • paulbentley says:

      Thanks Laura. Great to have you back in Blogsville. I hope the move has gone well and you are settling in nicely.

      Question: The return address you gave on the box, is it your new address?

      Paul

Leave a Reply

