(Half) Marathon Man – In the key of ‘G’

The Blues aint always sad baby. I can't get enough of the '(Half) Marathon Man Blues'

Did I tell you I ran a Half Marathon yesterday?

Oh I did 🙂 Sorry, I still can’t actually believe it!!!!!

So pleased am I, I have written a song. Yes a song. Some of you will know that in (what now seems) a different life, a long, long time a go, I used to be a jazz/blues singer. So, to celebrate my new accomplishment I have penned a simple blues tune. I might do a quick video of it tomorrow, not made any videos for a while. I was going to sing it for you tonight, but, I’ve ran out of time. Tell you what, if you want to see a video of me singing it, comment below.

Anyhoo. Like I said, a simple slow blues with a ‘Do do-do Do Do’ after each vocal line. I’ve literally just spent an hour trying to find a good example of ‘Do do-do Do Do’ on youtube and I couldn’t find one. Rubbish. Here goes…

I woke up this morning
I was feelin real fine
I woke up this morning
With my run on my mind
No pain in my ankles
No pains in my knees
So I went to the gym for some re-co-very

Cos I’m a (Half) Ma-ra-thon Mannnnnnn
I’m halfway to reaching my goaaaalllll (Yes I am)
Said I’m a
Ma-ra-thon Mannnnnn
Hard to believe I’m still 23 stoneeeee (Yes I am)

Listen…

Good people tried to tell me
Paul, Take it nice and slow
Good people tried to tell me
You’ll get injured don’t you know
But I was listening to my body
I had a feelin’ deep inside
I checked the road behind me I’d gone over 13 miles

Cos I’m a (Half) Ma-ra-thon Mannnnnnn
I’m halfway to reaching my goaaaalllll (Yes I am)
Said I’m a
(Half) Ma-ra-thon Mannnnnn
Hard to believe I’m still 23 stoneeeee (That’s 322lbs ya’ll)
Don’t you know that I’m a (Half) Ma-ra-thon Man
Changed my life completely three months a go (Yes I did)
Said I’m a
(Half) Ma-ra-thon Mannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn
If you want to join me – Let me knowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

Thank you for listening guys. Paul has left the building – thank you very much!!!!!

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

4:13

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle, Music, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to (Half) Marathon Man – In the key of ‘G’

  1. K Tobin says:

    Great job on the half-marathon. It doesn’t make it any less official because it wasn’t an organized event. Keep it up. The running will only get easier.

  2. Well done on the 1/2 marathon!
    + 1 for the video of your song, preferably saved and posted on Monday morning to give me a laugh over breakfast before I head out to work.

Leave a Reply

