Milestones that rise and fall

The Rise .................................................. The Fall

Firstly – The Rise

Thank you to all you lovely people who have taken my little blog to over 5000 views/hits. Over 5000!! I actually can’t believe it, 5000. Did I mention my little blog has been looked at over 5000 times by you! It’s only been in existence for three months, so I am thrilled. I’ve no clue whether 5000 is a good stat or if I should have had 30,000 views by now, no matter, I’m very happy about it anyway. Nah, what am I saying, 5000 hits in three months is cool, super cool!!!

When I decided I wanted the good people of the blogosphere to hold me to account on my road to a ‘healthier’ lifestyle, I had no idea I’d get this many hits in such a short space of time. If I’m honest, I thought a few family and friends would read it occasionally and offer a few words of support when times of struggle came. The fact that I’ve been getting readers from all over the world, has completely blown me away. Let’s face it, I’m not writing Shakespeare, so I’m chuffed people are taking the time to read and to comment. This here blog is really helping me. Writing it helps me stay connected with what I’m trying to achieve and it helps me process any negativity I may experience so that it doesn’t take over. Equally, knowing that you are reading, makes me believe my non-shakespearean content must be okay, even if on occasion, a bit repetitive and monotonous 🙂 Thank you, thank you, thank you.

To celebrate this, my first milestone as a blogger, I’ve changed the look of the blog page. What do you think? Any good? Can you even remember what it used to look like? No, me neither. If you can remember, give me some feedback and I’ll change it back if we disapprove.

Secondly – The Fall

My blog hits may have risen to over 5000, but, I am equally pleased that my weight has fallen by 5 stone /// 31kgs /// 70lbs. This means that I have lost over 17% of my body mass in three months (well nearly four as I had started to lose before I started the blog).

Seventeen percent! That is a ridiculous statistic in a surprisingly short period of time. I know that my rate of loss will slow down, in fact, I think it already has, but, as long as it keeps falling, there is no reason why I shouldn’t remain tickled pink!

I really thank God for helping me achieve this change and I am indebted to a few people who have helped me and joined me with regard to exercise. I know that when it comes to it, it’s down to the effort that I’m prepared to put in and keep putting in, but, without the support of a few people along the way (especially at the beginning), I may not be where I am today. Thank you, thank you, thank you too.

To celebrate this, this massive milestone towards being a ‘healthier’ person, I’ve had a bit of a day off today. No gym (my body needed a rest) and some chocolate cake. Hey, it’s the end of the month, I’ve dropped 5 stone and I am in no doubt I will pick up where I left off tomorrow (or Monday :-)). Balance! It’s all good in the hood!

Thanks for continuing to read my ramblings. I look forward to sharing even more with you as I become fitter, lighter and healthier.

If you have any questions, suggestions or ideas for future posts, please comment me.

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

4:13

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Health, Healthier Lifestyle, Motivation, Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Milestones that rise and fall

  1. pamxyz says:

    Well done on reaching 5000. keep up the good work.

  2. congrats on the 70lbs – very impressive.

    • paulbentley says:

      Thank you very much for the comment. As we speak I am engrossed in your blog and busy hopping between articles you have posted re fat burning etc. I seem to have the right approach re cardio (going off the Paul Rogers article) but I could do with changing/adjusting my weight training.

      A great read.

      • one thing not on there – if you do both cardio and weights in a single session, the current thinking is a little all over, but some are suggesting do the weights first (after a quick warmup) so you deplete the energy in the muscles before cardio time. I’ve been doing it since April and it kick started me from a plateau (but then any change tends to).

        Separately, my boss in NY is a scouser. I also lived in UK for a while and visited.

      • paulbentley says:

        That’s exactly what I was thinking last night, although I didn’t actually do any weights today. Tomorrow I am defo going to do weights before cardio and see how that goes.

        Re separately, ask your boss is s/he a ‘Red or a Blue’. If they say they are a ‘White’, they are what we would call a ‘Plastic Scouser’. I’ll explain some other time, or they can.

        Thanks for the comments. Keep on keepin on!!!

      • he says red of course. when he told me footie jerseys i understood – but don’t worry whenever man u make a big win I go in and congratulate him on ‘his’ team.

      • paulbentley says:

        Good to know he is a red – YNWA!!! (You’ll Never Walk Alone).

    • paulbentley says:

      That’s a great article and confirms that what I am actually doing now IS the best ‘way round combination’ ie cardio then weights. the fatigue I’m encountering during weights would seem to be a necessary evil for fat burning. As I’m still 322lbs a muscle building ‘focus’ can wait it’s turn.

      I suppose the only thing the article didn’t address, was the best size of weights/no of reps, but that was covered in one of your other articles you posted.

      So, what am I thinking now? Well, tomorrow, my usual cardio then weights, but, bigger weights lower reps.

      Thanks man!!

Leave a Reply

