The Year Ahead

A pre-post waffle… Look, I suppose it’s a bit pointless posting blog posts retrospectively, which is what I did with yesterdays post today. I mean, it’s supposed to be a blog Paul. Don’t blogs (in their purest sense) get posted on the day the experiences, activities or mental ramblings happened? Basically, I hate missing a day so as far as I’m concerned (in a not so pure sense) the post is still valid. I could just post today about yesterday, but, no, I want ‘a’ post on the day I missed. I suppose the chance I take is that it won’t get read. With that in mind – PLEASE READ YESTERDAYS POST, PLEASE. I really enjoyed writing it 🙂

What of today then?

Well, I want to keep this short and sweet (so that you will click back and read yesterdays, obviously) and just see if I can give one, or two, or three of you, a focus for the coming year. But Paul mate, we are already halfway through the year. Yes we are, in a January to December sense, but, not in a how long until the London Olympics sense we’re not.

On your marks...

Yes indeedy peeps. Today, the 27th July 2011, makes it exactly one year until London 2012. What a great focus for making changes in your lifestyle!!!

Do you not think so? I do, in fact, I was really struck by it earlier today. So much so, that I’m going to have a look with fresh eyes on my own journey and see if I can get even more inspired, or re-focus my focus. If nothing else, at least I can just have a look back over the past few months and see what’s been good and what’s been not so good.

What about you though? Where are you right now? Maybe you are reading this blog and you are thinking you can’t do what I have done over the past three months. Guys listen. Without judgement, finger pointing or too much pressure, I just want to say to you that, you can!

I was ‘the biggest’ couch spud I know. I literally thought my life was over. 28st of no exercise/fast food infested out of controlness. Everyday I would wonder ‘when’ my heart attack or stroke ‘was’ going to happen. I was a depressed, super morbidly obese man with no hope, no future, no confidence and with no way out – or so I thought.

Is that you? Do you think there is no way you can get out of the hole you have dug yourself into? You can get out and if you give yourself just half a chance, you will get out.

Look, I’m sorry, but, there is no magic formula, no pill, no medical procedure or treatment that I am going to suggest to you. You can get them and for some people they work. For many, many more though, they don’t.

What I want to suggest to you is this. Just take a little step today, one small step of change in your lifestyle and feel good about it!!! If you change one small thing, you are already on the road to a ‘healthier’ lifestyle. I’m not just saying it, I mean it. It may be a food change, an activity change or an exercise change. Whatever it is and no matter how small it is, it’s a change for your good and the changes that you need in your life, need to come from you. People can encourage you, help you, even kick start you, but, when it’s all said and done and they’ve moved on to something or someone else, the continued change comes from you and you alone. Guess what? You can do it!!! I have. I still am and I’m going to carry on.

Look, I like to be honest. I’m no hero. I’ve still got other battles that I’m facing and not doing so well with thank you very much. That said, what I am achieving with my health and weight, is a battle I was losing just three months a go. I was losing, as well as and along with, all the other battles I’m still facing. Not any more though. My healthier lifestyle battle has well and truly been given a ‘broadside’ and has passed over to the ‘Battles Being Won’ category – Yeah baby!!!!

Come on, what have you got to lose (pardon the pun)? Let me repeat a couple of things that were said to me, that made me sit up and think. A little scare is a good thing (in my opinion) and I’ve mentioned these in earlier posts somewhere.

Question: How many old fat people do you know or see in your neighbourhood?

Question: If you had a heart attack, would people be surprised, or would they think that it was only a matter of time anyway?

Interesting hey? Scary too, yes?

It’s one year to the Olympic Games at London 2012. Be inspired. Just imagine how different you can look and feel in 12 months. Go and have a look at the pictures of the changes in me in just three months. Make a change today. Build on it tomorrow, next week or next month and just see (and feel) the difference. I want to help you, I really do. That’s why I write this blog and post gazillions of photos of myself. I HAVE made a change when I thought change was impossible and now, I feel like Tony the Tiger – Just Grrrreeeeaaaaaatttttttttt!!!!!

Come and join me.

Today, I ran 12.5 km /// 7.8 miles and I felt great after it. Three months ago, that was impossible, impossible. You can do it too.

I’ll write more about this tomorrow, for now, this short post (yeah right) is enough to keep you thinking about it and if you’re thinking about it, that’s change.

 

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

“I Can Do It…!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Health, Healthier Lifestyle, I Can Do It, Mental Health, Motivation, Physical Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

