I Ran Home

Church to Home - 4.52 miles /// 7.27 kms

I ran home from church today.

This morning we had a Mens Breakfast Meeting in church at 9am. Jan needed the car so I asked if she could drop me off and I would run back home.

“Run back home?” Asked many of the guys at the meeting. “You’re going to run back home?” “Yep.” Said I. “Really, you’re going to run all the way to your house, from here?” “Oh yes!” Said I again and so I did.

Now remember, it was only just over a month a go that I managed to walk it , but, encouraged by my longest run to date , I guessed I was ready to run it, so I did. Did I mention I did.

The good thing about this run was that it was the first time I attempted to run on public roads. Maybe that doesn’t sound like ‘a biggy’ to you, but, it really was for me. I know that there are ‘joe public’ at my usual run, the marina, but, many of them are running, cycling or walking themselves. A morbidly obese guy huffing and puffing along the beach is quite normal, but, out on the (mean) streets, it’s a different story all together.

On the (mean) streets, you have the whole of humanity in its hustle and bustle. Kids, cars, shoppers, drinkers, anyone and everyone is shuffling along. The sight of a human Telly Tubby (remember them) joddling past, could be the focus of lots of laughter and jokes, jokes at my expense. Look, I’m pretty thick skinned (actually no I’m not really), but, up till now, I’ve just not been ready for the embarrassment and possible ridicule. I’ve felt fairly safe in my gym and marina surroundings thank you very much, but, it was time, time to step out, so I did.

I had an absolutely great run!

Once again, conditions were near perfect. Sunny, but, overcast with a slight breeze. I was up for the challenge and I made sure I did a little bit of planning in my mind before I set off. I split the run in to four mental phases and this helped make it less daunting. I knew if I got to the end of a phase it would spare me on to the next and it did. Here’s a breakdown…

Phase One. Church to County Road – This is by far the most populated stretch. If I got through this patch of humanity , I would have no fear of running in public in future. Completed ✔

Phase Two. County Road to The Mons Pub – This is a real challenge because it’s all up hill. A gentle but demanding climb. If I got up this puppy with my legs intact surely I’d do it. All that 6k treadmill with 5% incline was going to pay off here. Completed ✔

Phase Three. The Mons to Millers Bridge – This could be a fairly easy section of the run if I got through phase two (and I did :-)), so, just enjoy it Paul. Completed ✔

Phase Four. Millers Bridge to Home – This was the longest stretch and the busiest for vehicle traffic as it was on the pavement of a long, long, main dual carriageway. I knew if I got to here, I had a good chance of making it home. Completed ✔

Phases One through Four – Completed ✔✔✔✔

Distance – 4.52 miles /// 7.27 kms
Time – 56 min 44 secs

I was well chuffed with my time. Yes, I know it’s still slow as runs go, but, I don’t care. I ran four and a half miles on public roads, with a couple of climbs and I did it in under an hour. Job done!

Final Thought

It’s amazing what our bodies can do, if, we put our minds to it. And that my friend, is the whole point of the matter. Maybe old Mr Woo my ex dentist was right after all, “Paul, pain all in the mind.” Yeah right, but, maybe when it comes to running, it absolutely is the case. I can run further than I imagine I can. All I have to do, is pace myself and tell myself…

“I Can Do It…!”

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

4:13

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

