My first sports injury :-(

Yep it happens to the best of us 😦

Yep, it’s happened.

I suppose it happens to every sportsman and woman, eventually. They get that first knock, that first setback, the first blot on a so far incident/accident free landscape. When it happens, progress is hindered and they’re not sure if it’s going to be a one off, or, a recurring thorn in the side. Hey listen, I’m no sportsman (or woman for that matter :-)) not by any stretch of the imagination, but, I do love my exercise, I do love my gym, my joddles (runs) and my walks.

Well peeps, I’ve got to be honest, initial examinations don’t look encouraging. This may be something I have to grapple with for some time to come. It’s probably going to be a recurring problem ‘ad infinitum’. I’ll probably be able to continue to train (in some pain and discomfort) but there is definitely an injury management issue I will have to get my head around.

Those of you who read my blog regularly will no doubt feel my pain, pardon the pun. You know how important exercise is to my new ‘healthier’ lifestyle, so the thought of me (at least for now anyway) reducing my training is pretty devastating.

I suppose you are all wondering what has happened. Look, I best just come right out and tell you. No need to worry you any longer.

I’ve got bad nipple chafe!!!!!!!

Hey, now stop that laughing right away! You have no idea how painful my man boobs are. Man, they are in agony. You can keep your shin splints, calf strains, swollen ankles, hernias, groin strains and hamstrings. This is real pain people. Have you ever tried getting a shower after a bad onset of nipple chafe? Oh you haven’t, well laugh no more girlfriend, nipple chafe is right up there with the metatarsals of this world.

How ironic that only yesterday I talked about ‘chub rub’. Now chub rub is bad and is definitely related to nipple chafe as it’s friction based, but, nipple chafe is by far more a sports related injury. What do you mean, “no it’s not!” Read and weep baby, read and weep. Right, there is the link, right, here is a quick quote,

Nipple chafing is an annoying running injury you can get especially on long runs.

Did you read that? ‘Running Injury’. Me, a runner, me!!!

Guys, it’s official, I am a runner! I suffer with a running injury. There it is in black and white. You my friend are officially reading the blog of ‘a runner’, Paul Bentley is his name and he has a running related injury to prove it. Let’s look at the facts. Yes I have nipple chafe, yes it happened on a long run, yes, I am a runner – Fact.

Don’t worry everybody, I will manage this injury in such a way that it will not unduly hinder my progress. Any advice or tips on management will be gratefully accepted.

All I can do at this stage is give you a guarantee. My nipples will not hold me back.

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

“I Can Do It…!” Even with nipple chafe.

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Health, Healthier Lifestyle, Physical Health, Running, Sports Injuries and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My first sports injury :-(

  1. Pingback: My first sports injury :-( « 224 | Sports Injury

Leave a Reply

