Chub Rub

Disclaimer: There are other brands available. I am in no way sponsored by, or related to anyone associated with Lanacane. Bottom line is, it's just good 🙂

Let’s talk about chub rub.

I only heard the phrase a few days a go whilst reading another blog. Chub rub, haha, I love it. What is it I here you ask?

Well, I know chub rub as chafe or ‘chafeage’. Chafeage occurs when there is friction in places like arm pits, inner thighs and bum cheeks. Skin on skin, coarse fabric on skin, either cause it and it is painful, sooo painful. Although it is primarily a complaint of we larger types, it is a tad unfair to call it ‘chub’, because, you (yes you) skinnier types suffer from it too. Yes you do, don’t deny it.

I actually thought I’d seen (and felt) the last of it. Because of my ‘healthier’ lifestyle and my (near) daily exercise, I’ve been getting it less and less, in fact, I’ve not had any trouble with it for weeks. Boy oh boy did it came back with a vengeance whilst on a walk the other day. For me, it is always the inner thighs – the worst place ever in my humble and learned opinion. You feel that little sting sensation and you know it’s on it’s way. Slowly but surely your stride gets wider (yes wider, not longer) as you try and limit the rubbing. No joy, so frantically you put your hands down your pants to move and shift ‘stuff’ around. You pull, you prod, you position, but, it’s no good. The friction increases, the sting turns in to a burn and the chafe gets you. Once it’s started you may as well stop walking, turn around and go back from whence you came. Any further walking in the direction away from the car is futile and just asking for prolonged pain. Did I mention it was painful?

Oh and it’s easy to spot. If you don’t like train spotting, go on a chub rub watch. You can always see chub rub in action, especially if it’s inner thighs. Just watch the walk! It’s a cross between the walk of the actor John Wayne and someone who has poohed themselves 😉 Did I mention it was painful? Friction burns are just the worst.

The biggest problem with chub rub has to be that one never knows exactly how, or when, it is going to strike. You can wear clothes that you’ve worn a dozen times before and on time number 13 chafeage hits. Why exactly, I do not know, it just does. I have a theory of sorts, it may be specific to me, but, hear me out and see what you think. Fabric softener.

I’m convinced it’s the seams on my underwear that cause my chafe. Skin on skin, no problem, but, underwear seams, I reckon it’s them. Which begs the question, why not every time Paul? I know, why not?! Fabric softener that’s why, either lack of or poor quality. Think about it. It’s either that or the washing powder, I’m certain 🙂 I must investigate further and bring you back my findings.

Peace and love people.

Paul (Kracker)

4:13

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chub Rub

  1. Callie says:

    Ha!!! Laughing here… one of my favorite post to date! Thanks for the honesty! I feel the pain!

Leave a Reply

