Rivers Crossed [4] & The Big Workout Conundrum

2hrs (120mins) Cardio on the Treadmill. Ka ka ka-Boom!!!!!!

So I had a ‘wicked’ cardio workout today/yesterday (depending on when I post this post). Two hours straight on the Treadmill, Ka-Boom!!

A big thank you to Andy who was on the next Treadmill, cos we talked for, it must have been, 90 minutes. This made the time fly by. Two hours of Fat Burn THR (Target Heart Rate), my tee shirt was the soggiest, sweatiest mess I think I’ve ever had and believe me, I’ve had some soggy sweaty messes in the last three months. Hopefully you already know that anyway, cos you avidly read my blog and look at my ‘Mirror Man’ photo’s, yes? You do, don’t you? Please say yes, please!

Pull yourself together man!!

Sorry about that, I got all worried no one was reading for a second then, but you are there, aren’t you? 🙂

Anyway, so two hours (120mins) THR. That right there my friends, was one of my ‘Rivers’ and the page has been duly amended, Ka Ka-Boom!!

Now for the conundrum.

This was a BIG workout. Yes I was (only) walking, but, it was at a good 5.8/6k with a 4 or 5% incline. I got my heart rate right bang in the Fat Burning Zone and I stayed there for the full 120mins. So what’s my problem? I HAVE BEEN CRAVING SOMETHING SWEET ALL DAY SINCE. Oh me, oh my, proper full on craving and only sweet stuff. Chocolate, biscuits, cake, you name it, I want it. Jan (my amazingly wonderful better half) has made cake. Chocolate cake with cream and jam. Chocolate cake with cream and jam. Yes I know I said it twice. Chocolate cake, with cream and with jam. As I type I can smell it and it smells good. I want some soooooo bad, but, I know I want lots. I want a massive piece. I’ll eat that piece like it’s the last cake on earth and then I’ll want some more. I can really taste it, no honestly, I can taste it and I’ve not had any, yet 🙂

Why, oh why, oh why, the craving? Two options as I see it.

1) This was going to happen today anyway Bentley boy, it’s got nothing to do with the BIG workout. Or,

2) This is totally the fault of the workout fat lad and if you workout like that again, get ready for more of the same. Muhahahahahahaha!!!

I’m exasperated. Why? Well,

1) If it’s not the workout, it’s not fair cos I worked HARD today and I WANT the benefits, so stop it with the cravings brain. Or,

2) If a big workout is gonna make me feel like this, me no likey, me no likey AT ALL and I need to re-think the big workout philosophy.

Okay, I’m proper waffling now and using way too many capital letters haha.

The bottom line, I suppose, is this. I’m not sure about the answer to my conundrum, but I LOVED (more capitalisation sorry) my workout and here’s the answer you all really want to know…

First, the question you all want to ask.

Q: Paul, did you stuff your face with something sweet?

A: (In capitals) NO I DID NOT !!!!!

Let me ask you a question. Help me solve my conundrum. Ready?

Q: Big mahoosive Fat Burn workouts, yay or nay?

A: ???????

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

Repeat after me, “I Can Do It…!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, Goals, Gym, Healthier Lifestyle, Rivers Crossed and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rivers Crossed [4] & The Big Workout Conundrum

  1. Callie says:

    Look at those cardio numbers!!!! Thats awesome! Keep it up. Its paying off. The cravings may never go away, but God is strengthening you to stand against them. Press on!

    • paulbentley says:

      Sorry for the delay in replying.

      Thanks Callie. I’m getting great cardio numbers and the cardio seems to key to the weight coming off. I guess you are right re the cravings. You can’t spend 42 years loving sugar and just switch it off.

      God is good and I WILL press on!!!

  2. Andy Birch says:

    Yay!

Leave a Reply

