Runners, Writers and A Fun Day Out

no65 - With some of the Temple Of Praise posse

Runners – Join me please in saying congratulations to Jan (the much better half) and Lore (you know about Lore) for doing their first 2.5k outdoor joddle around the Marina yesterday morning. A mahoosive round of applause, high 5’s (don’t forget to look at the elbow) and chest bumps. If Tony the Tiger was here, I think he’d say, “They did grrrrreat!”

I’ve got to be honest (and I may be wrong), but, I think it was harder than they first thought it would be. Look, I joddle slow, no really, proper sloooooooow. Oh you don’t believe me? Well, if I told you that my predicted marathon time is 5hrs:53mins, now do you believe I’m slow? Thought so! Anyhoo, I think they wanted to ‘push on’, but, then they realised it was a wee bit tougher than anticipated and my pace was good enough. They did it, they finished, they didn’t walk at all, so a job well done. Jan has even decided she wants to go again today. Did I marry a good woman or what?!?

I don’t know what it is about running, but, there is such a great sense of achievement when you do what you set out to do, be it a particular distance or a new PB (5k in 37:07 in case you were wondering or haven’t read the post haha 🙂 ). Equally, it is sooooo hard, especially when you are more ‘Porkie Pig’ than ‘Haile Gebrselassie’. I love it and dread it, in equal measure. Actually no, that’s a lie, I love it more, for now anyway.

Writers – Well, writer actually, but, writer(s) sounded better in the post title 😉 You know about my up and coming Ambassadorship thingy with Active Sefton don’t you, well, they’ve asked can they write a (short) article about me which will be circulated around the borough. It’s a kind of a Sefton Active success story article and I am more than happy to oblige as I think the programme is ace. They have kindly agreed to include my blog address, which is great because as you also know, the more readers I have, the more accountable I am and the more likely I am going to stay on track with my ‘healthier’ lifestyle. It’s all good!

A Fun Day Out – Last Saturday was our annual church day out. Now, we usually go far and wide seeking out new life and new civilisation, to boldly go where… Sorry wrong trip. Where was I, we go far and wide, book venues, pay out money and have a great time. This year we went, you guessed it, to ‘Crosby Lakeside Adventure Centre and Marina’. Yep, it didn’t take much persuasion, a good time was had by all and it was free. We talked, we ate, we crabbed, played football, walked (obviously) and we took a photo for my 100 Amigos Project. Can you imagine how good I felt? Muy bueno!!!!!!

Let’s keep it up peeps. No better time than the summertime to make a positive change for good. Go on, you know you want too!!!

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

4:13

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Christianity, Family, Friends, Healthier Lifestyle, Relationships, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

