The end of the beginning of the rest of my life

This week is Week 14 of my Active Sefton experience.  Week 14 is the final week of the programme  😦

Tomorrow I have my ‘final review’ meeting with  Brenda Turnley my referral officer. (Brenda assures me she reads my blog. Hi Brenda, I hope you are reading this or we’re gonna have words when I see you  😉 )

Time for a personal ‘pre-review’ review of my own, before tomorrow. A little reflection in words and pictures me thinks 🙂

Firstly – Considering the first ‘River’  I wanted to cross was to stay on the programme for one month, for me, reaching week 14 is pretty huge (pardon the pun). Not only did I start the programme, I finished it!!!!!! Did you hear that – I FINISHED IT

So…

I don't look like this any more

I look like this

I don't feel like this any more

I feel like this

And I don't do this any more - Always sleeping Paul

I do this - I Joddle

And this - I Tread

And this - I Bike

And this - I Fly

And this - I Row

And especially this - I walk with my family for miles and miles and miles (this is my beautiful daughter Lois)

I feel so good, I want to do a jig - A super sweatie jig !!!!!

I've found a great place to help me get 'healthier'

And I've made some new friends - Andy & Pam

& Chris - One of the staff at Lakeside & OlympicFitnessCoach.com

A little digression – I’d just like to pay special tribute to Andy. Andy (he won’t mind me saying), used to weigh 30st (420lbs) Right now, through determination, herculean effort and no small amount of mental strength he is somewhere in the region of 17/18st. Amazing! This morning, for the first time EVER he ran 2.5k (1.5miles) and completely nailed it. No stops, no walks, just running.

Andy, in weight terms, you are nearly half the man you used to be. In real terms though, you are twice the man you used to be. Well done mate and I look forward to us running your first 5k together sometime soon.

Where was I, oh yes, me 🙂

In 14 weeks (12 really as I didn’t get serious for a fortnight) my life has completely turned around, completely! Mentally and physically. When I look a head, I see a future. Honestly, 14 weeks a go, I saw NO future. I was at my lowest ebb and I couldn’t see a way out.

I am a person of faith and my faith is a massive part of who I am. I thank God for what He has done in my life these past three months (well 18 months actually, but that’s a story for another day) and I thank Him for putting Active Sefton on my path.

The programme has helped me no end and I mean that sincerely. I’ve started a new journey to a ‘healthier’ lifestyle and Active Sefton has been the vehicle that gave me the opportunity, the support, the affordability and the facilities to kick start that journey.

Additionally, I’ve been inspired to utilise Facebook and this blog to play an equally important ‘accountability’ role, but, without the programme, that wouldn’t have happened or been nearly as relevant.

Put bluntly, Active Sefton Rocks!

Put properly, Active Sefton provides a much needed health service to the people of Sefton and is key to tackling the growing problem of obesity and inactivity in children, young people and adults. Used to it’s full potential, the programme can drastically change the holistic health of the individual and/or family. Nuff said!!!

As a caveat to my Active Sefton ‘love in’ however, I must also pay tribute to the role of Crosby Lakeside Adventure Centre. This centre is A-mazing and the fact that I have been able to attend here through Active Sefton has been nothing short of fantastic. I love this place with a capital ‘L’ and I honestly don’t know if I would have continued, as well as I have, if not for Lakeside. For me, the partnership of the programme and the venue has been invaluable. Nuff, nuff said!!!

Thankfully, although my participation of the programme ends, as you know, I’ve been asked to continue (at Lakeside) as an Active Sefton Ambassador so that is really excellent news.

So, this week is the end of the beginning of the rest of my life. It feels like I’ve been on an Access Course for the past 14 weeks and now I’m starting ‘Life’ and life looks good.

Thanks Active Sefton.

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

“I Can Do It…!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

