Fat Jokes

I’m a self deprecating kind of guy. I think a lot of us ‘larger’ people are. Just look at the image I posted yesterday. We make fun of ourselves and we like to be the one to make people laugh.

Following the self deprecation theme, I decided tonight’s post was going to be on ‘what fat people do’. I was going to be the example and I was going to tell some funny stories about me and food, me and clothes, me and chairs, crowds, stairs, toilets, escalators etc etc etc. I say ‘was’ because before I posted I decided to have a liddle lookee on the web to see if others like me (fat) had recounted something similar. Unfortunately, I didn’t find anybody like me, instead, I found a raft of other less obese individuals being cruel, derogatory and quite frankly abusive. Guys, I enjoy poking fun at myself (as you will already know if you regularly read my blog) but as I looked through blogs and articles of people just being cruel to fat people, it upset me and made me angry. Some of these people called themselves ‘personal trainers’ and ‘fitness professionals’. Yeah right!!

Maybe I’m just being over-sensitive. Much of the stuff being said, I say about myself, but, isn’t that the point. I can say it about me if I choose to, because it’s me. Maybe I can even say it about other fat people, I’m fat so it’s okay. Maybe, but definitely, I can say it about me if I want too. If you laugh, that’s fine, it’s humour about me on my terms. Why did I find others poking fun at ‘fat people’ offensive?

I’m nowhere near intelligent enough (more self deprecation) to articulate a thorough answer to that question, but, I think primarily, it’s about ‘intent’. Much of the things we laugh at (if not all) are ‘poking fun’ in some way, shape or form and let’s face it, a world without humour would be a pretty boring place.

What was/is the intention of the fun poker?

My intention is to recount an embarrassing, but, humorous episode in my life. It makes the hearer laugh because they imagine/can’t imagine it happening to them maybe, or, they feel for me in the situation because they know me. Either way, they are not really laughing ‘at’ me, more ‘with’ me.

The intention of those I read tonight, seem to be very different. Fat people are selfish, lazy, ugly, greedy, spongers etc etc. These writers seem to be offended by my very existence. I felt so upset I needed a cream cake (joke).

I don’t want to change the way I joke about myself. I like being like this. I really wanted to tell you some funny stories tonight, but, reading the web trash has put me off. Maybe next time 🙂

Anyway, sorry this is a serious post peeps. You know me, fat happy-go-lucky Paul, I don’t like being serious. I prefer being ‘jolly’. I hope you are getting the irony in that last couple of sentences.

Got to go. A more ‘healthier’ lifestyle post tomorrow, you wait and see.

Adios amigos,

Fatty

“I Can Do It…!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Health, Healthier Lifestyle, healthy lifestyle, Obesity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

