Something missed, something new, something weird, something blue

One day baby, one day!!!

Firstly, I hope you like the buff me haha.

So yesterday, myself, Michael and Lore got a wee taste of a military workout from Chris Mulvaney at OlympicFitnessCoach. It was hard (very hard), it was enjoyable (really enjoyable) and I’m looking forward to doing it again (yes I know I’ve got a screw loose). It took more out of me than I thought and by the evening I was so ‘knackered’ I fell asleep writing my blog.

Most Saturday mornings (as you know), I’ve been running a parkrun 5k. I woke up in pain this morning. My thighs, my calfs, basically every part of my legs were killing me and when I got out of bed I just thought, not today baby!! High 5’s to Brian (Bez) Crawford who turned up flying the flag and doing the business. Respect old chap, respect. Having said that, he didn’t do a military beach workout on Friday. Respect to me, Michael and Lore too I say!!! 😉

It was another b.e.a.utiful day in Beatle Town so I still wanted to maybe go to the gym and for a walk. As usual, I got out of the car at Crosby Lakeside and I just thought, “yes oh yes, this is a great place to get healthy!” Blue skies, a gentle breeze, people learning to sail on the marina, sand dunes on the horizon and not one, but, two suns. Well, actually the second sun was Chris’s face from yesterday haha. Next time me thinks sun block – ouch!!!

Chris was in the gym (lighting up the corner of the room haha) and he offered to take me through a cable machine session for my upper body. Free advice and instruction, game on!! If you don’t know what a cable machine is, it looks like this:

gym instructor not included 🙂

It’s a great machine for doing all kinds of arm/shoulder/chest/back exercises. Here’s what we did today:

  • Lateral Pull Downs (16.25kgs)
  • Upright Rows (8.75kgs)
  • Single Arm Chest Press (8.75kgs)
  • Single Arm Row (8.75kgs)
  • Wood Chops Low-High (8.75)

All of the weights were each side, so eg, 16.25kgs each side on the first exercise and what was great about this session was that he didn’t have me doing repetitions (reps), I did periods of time. So, instead of doing 2 x sets of 12 reps, I did each exercise for 30 seconds, rested 20 seconds, then did the exercise for 30 seconds again. The Wood Chops were solid!!!

Once again, it was great to mix up my training and do something different. This is the 3rd circuit that Chris has given me, they are all great to do and great for fending off monotony and keeping the gym interesting.

Thanks Chris!

So, a few days a go I told you about my weird 7kg weight gain (apparently) over a five day period. An hour later (after a heavy cardio session) I’d dropped 2kgs and yesterday (Friday) after the beach session, I’d dropped another 2kgs. Weird and yet more proof that I don’t need to be concerned about the gain. Consequently, everything is now back to normal and I WILL NOT be getting weighed until the end of July!!!! Scales are what? Comment below if you know the answer. A prize for the most emotive response.

And finally…

I’ve made another page for the blog entitled ‘The Naked Truth’. I’ll upload it tomorrow. Basically, I’ve decided to ‘get my kit off’ to show you what a flab-diddly-ishus mess I’m getting rid of. Don’t worry, it’s not X-Rated and I’m only topless. I’ll update it monthly (when I get weighed) and you can let me know what you think. Yes, I have no shame and my poor wife and children have to suffer the embarrassment. Don’t worry, they’re used to it 🙂

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Exercise, Family, Fitness, Health, Healthier Lifestyle, healthy lifestyle, Obesity, Physical Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

