My first major challenge. Or is it?

Which way will it go?

Dos días hasta que mi hermano de otra madre visitas Liverpool. Vamos!!!!!

So I have a friend Paco. Paco is from Madrid in Spain and on Friday he visits Liverpool for five days. Do you know where I’m going with this? Me thinks I’ll have to be an itsy-bitsy-bit more relaxed about food from Friday to Wednesday. Should I be concerned?

I suppose this is my first major challenge since adopting my ‘healthier’ lifestyle. I’ve thought about it a lot (obviously) and I’ve decided that the best thing to do is just be chilled about it. I’m still going to exercise whilst he is here, that aspect of my routine is unchanged. The only change is what foods I will allow myself to eat. For me, exercise is still THE MOST significant change in my lifestyle and as long as I continue with it, the journey of lifestyle change is still in full effect. There is no reason why exercise should stop and it won’t!

I reckon this is were the concept of ‘balance’ really comes in to play. These soon approaching five days, are not the norm, but, they are an example of what happens in ‘real life’. I actually feel quite positive about it, having said that, I haven’t eaten any chocolate cake, apple pie or pizza yet haha.

I want to concentrate on the positives and not dwell on any negatives. In fact, I don’t even want to call what may happen a negative. It’s not a negative. Spending time with good friends, eating good food, drinking good wine, is not at all negative, it’s positive. Oh, the possible weight gain, surely that’s a negative. No. Any gain (and I may not even gain) is temporary. Calorific intake may be more than what is burnt for a few days, but, IT’S ONLY A FEW DAYS – Fact!!! I only weigh once a month, so the reality is that I’m probably going to have a net loss for the month anyway. Absolutely nothing to be overly concerned about.

I’m still loving this journey. Talking of positives, there are so many in my new lifestyle. Things I’m proud of, thankful for and just plain enjoying. Take today for example. I didn’t have the best time in the gym this morning. It was busy, I couldn’t get a treadmill and I had to adapt my session to feel the benefit. I did and it was okay. Jan is off work for a few days, so we decided to finish off the ‘yard project’ (I’ll post some pictures tomorrow). Once again, I have been able to take part in the work and not just sit on the sidelines as I would have done in the past. Me, take part. I could bend and stretch and paint. I could fetch and carry. I could be useful and I didn’t get in to a lather of sweat in the process. It’s such a big change in my life and in the life of our family and for that I am so thankful.

This evening we went for our nightly Marina walk. Two friends came to the house to go with us and another two met us there. Six of us doing a 2.5k walk, six. It’s just so great how friends and family are joining in and embarking on their own journey. Five friends and family have joined the gym. That’s five people taking positive steps in their own lives because (in part) of what I’m doing in my life. I know I’ve mentioned this before, but, it just amazes me!

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

4:13

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

