Always take your meds

A tablet a day keeps a coma away - literally 🙂

Jan has finished nights – Hurray!!! So this meant she could come to the gym this morning – Yeah!!!

I love going with Michael (when he gets out of bed) and Lore (Mr Consistent), but Jan, Jan was the person who kick started me on my journey, she was my first gym buddy and she is my bezzie. Nuff said!!! The only problem with Jan coming the gym is that she wants to be done and dusted within 45mins to 1 hour max! Not good when, the night before,  you are in the mood for a big session.

To overcome this minor setback, I decided to go for a 5k joddle, then meet her in the gym for about 45mins. Good plan? Well, it would have been if I wasn’t so energy-less this morning. Big session my foot. Oh I forgot to tell you something. So, because we live so close to the Marina I thought I would run there and add an extra mile to my mileage. Unfortunately, I ended up walking to the Marina because I couldn’t run on a public road. I don’t mean I physically couldn’t run, I mean I couldn’t emotionally. It’s a really busy road with people driving to work. Driving to work, looking at (and laughing at) this extremely obese man waddling (they don’t know it’s a joddle) along at a snails pace. Sorry, I just can’t handle that yet.

Anyway, energy-less. The pre gym 5k would have been ‘a plan’ if I hadn’t been so energy-less. Honestly, I almost stopped after about 100 metres. It took every bit of resolve I could muster to carry on. “Don’t be stupid Paul, you can’t stop after 100 metres. Just do one lap, 2.5k.” I said. “Okay, one lap.” I replied. “Good idea.” Some stranger said, going the other way. Actually that last one didn’t happen 🙂

Just as I approached the end of the first lap I felt dead. My legs were like lead and I had a couple of weird aches in my knee and ankle. “Okay time to stop.” I said. “But, Jan and Lore are in the gym and they’ll know it’s only one lap. Lame.” I replied. “True. Come on carry on.” I encouraged. “Okay come on, we can do this!!!” The conversation didn’t actually worry me, until I said ‘we’. Oh dear. Now I know the first sign of madness is talking to yourself. The second is answering back. The third, well the third is acknowledging the second voice in your head as a person. Someone call the van with the men in white coats. I’m gone all the way. Help me Jebus!!!!!!

I completed the second lap (yay me/us) and I went in the gym. I got through about another 20 mins cardio on the treadmill and did a weights circuit with Lore, but, I was destroyed. What the heck is going on? It’s only Tuesday, I shouldn’t be this wiped out this early in the week.

We went home (that’s me, Jan and Lore, not me and my voice in my head, although obviously he came too) and I was pondering what was wrong, when it hit me (or him, I can’t actually remember who of me it was). I’d not taken my meds for two days. Paul you ding bat.

Let me explain…

A good few years a go I had to have my Adrenal Glands removed. It’s a long story and I won’t bore you with the details, save to say that if I don’t take my meds, I have no energy (do you think it’s relevant – Doh!!!). Eventually, apparently, I will slip in to a coma. Clever Paul, very clever. Who said that?

Problem solved and to be honest I was really relieved it was my meds! If it wasn’t my meds I would have had no clue what to do to resolve what was happening. Case closed. Order can be resumed and energy levels can be restored.

The moral of the story – Always take your meds!!!

Thanks for continuing to read guys. It means so much to me.

Adios amigos,

 

Paul (Kracker)

Repeat after me, “I Can Do It…!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

