A tale of two 5’s

Gimme 5 🙂

Hi peeps. As usual, running late in trying to get my nightly post in – Icarumba!!!

So, it’s Saturday and on Saturday’s the new me runs 5k at 9am, right? Wrong. I woke up this morning (dan dannn da nannn) and I had lots of little aches and pains. I had two options. (1) Haul my still extremely large ass out of bed and go run 5k, or (2) Listen to my body, call Michael, tell him I wasn’t coming today, turn over and catch a few more z’s. An hour or so later, I opened my eyes and got out of bed. I think you know what option I chose right 🙂

Guys, it was the right decision. I’ve been putting some serious hours in all week at the gym and walking/joddling round the Marina and I aint no spring chicken, still young, just not spring young! Of course Michael ‘ribbed’ me and said I was slacking, but, no, I was right not to go. I must admit, I felt a bit bad when I heard how many of the posse turned out though. Michael, Kathryn and Brian, plus newbies, Rachel and James. Fantastic guys!

Later that morning I had to go to worship practice at church to rehearse for Fathers Day. Today I had no car, so Jan dropped Matthew (youngest) and I off and said she could pick us up if we were finished by 1pm. Not wanting to rush the rehearsal I told her not to worry and that we would find our own way home. “How?” She asked. “Don’t worry,” I replied.

Practice was great, so, time to leave. “Dad, shall I text Mum, or are we getting the bus?” Asked Matthew. “No son,” said I, “we’re walking home.” “Walking!!!!!” “But Dad…” “Matt, I’m walking, if you want to get the bus, go ahead and get it!” Ten minutes in to our walk, conversation was flowing nicely 🙂

Maybe it was not doing the 5k weighing on my mind. Maybe it was the fact that the gym closed at 5pm today and I didn’t think I’d make it. Or, maybe it was just a nice sunny day and I fancied a walk. Whatever the reason, the only thing I would have changed would have been my shoes. Not a great walking choice, an okay choice, just not great.

So, we walked and walked and walked, chatting away as we went. It was great. Eventually, Matt broke off from me because he ‘wanted to go to Grandma’s’. Yeah right! He wanted to buy me a Father’s Day present. Shhhhhh, don’t tell him I know. So here I am, half way home, walking from church and I started to process what I was actually doing. I was in the middle of a 5 mile (not ‘k’) walk home from church. Is this really real? Is this really Paul Bentley? The Paul Bentley who sat in the car in the car park at the zoo. The Paul Bentley who would assess possible walking requirements for any trip with family or friends? Am I really the Paul Bentley who gets (past tense) excruciating back pain walking to the corner shop?

Actually, YES I AM 🙂

Here I am, putting one foot in front of the other, walking! Incredible.

It’s good that I ponder on these things. It’s good that I marvel. Not in a pompous or arrogant way. “Oh hey look at me guys!!” No, no, not like that. No, just remembering how sorrowful my life used to be. How disappointing I was to my wife and kids. They’d never say that to me, but, that’s how they felt. Dad never does anything with us. It was true. Dad never did anything with them, but no more! It’s all change in Bentley Town and Dad’s leading the, for a walk, for a run, for a ride, for good!!!

A proper post tomorrow, promise! 🙂

Remember momfog and Dad’s, have a great day tomorrow. Mum’s, give Dad a great day.

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker) or Sir 🙂

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in God, Healthier Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

