Good News :-)

Arise Sir Paul πŸ™‚

Firstly, apologies for not posting last night.

I’m actually quite devastated about it, as I really wanted to post EVERY day. Sadly, this desire/goal, call it what you will, is no more. The no show was such a stupid reason, I fell asleep! 😦 Asleep by 8pm (obviously exhausted cos of all the training I’m doing haha) and I only woke up for literally 5 minutes before sailing off again until morning. Dog tired! Right here, right now though, I make a commitment (to try my hardest) not to miss a post ever again. I appreciate there may be circumstances way beyond my control, but, if I am physically able to, I will post, even if it’s just to say hello and good night.

A big thank you to all those who contacted me today to say, “hey, where’s the blog post fat lad?” or words to that affect πŸ™‚ I say again as I said to you today, you have no idea how much it means to me that you are following my endeavours and supporting my journey.

Okay, vamos, the good news…

This is slightly embarrassing (I’ll explain why) but also something I’m quite ‘chuffed’ about. So, you all know I’ve been attending the gym at the Crosby Lakeside Adventure Centre and that this is part of the programme I was inducted on by the guys at Active Sefton. I’ve told you all about Active Sefton before right, well, I met with one of the service managers today, Ste Cushion (hi Ste if you’re reading πŸ˜‰ ) and I’ve been asked to become one of the Ambassadors for the Active Lifestyle Programme. I was asked about it last week by my referral officer, Brenda Turnley (hi Brenda if you’re reading πŸ˜‰ ) and to be honest, I was a bit ‘taken aback’ as I’ve only been on the programme for about 10 weeks (eight seriously). Brenda and Ste assured me however, that I have sufficiently impressed for them to ask me!! Forgive me for getting all ‘Liverpudlian’ on you again, but, I’m ‘made up’. This is a real ‘shot in the arm’ for me guys and I’m really grateful to Active Sefton for asking me.

So, I’m slightly embarrassed by it (because I’ve not been attending that long) and I’m fighting feelings of being a bit of a fake or an imposter, but, on the other hand, I’m really proud of my achievements and it’s those achievements that have presented me with this opportunity right, right! What achievements? Well hey look, I am fundamentally doing this ‘healthier’ lifestyle change for me and my family, so the change in lifestyle choices (exercise, activity and food) I have made are really impacting us positively, that’s an achievement. Secondary to this (but obviously important and let’s face it noticeable) is the weight loss I am achieving. Now for the mantra – As I always say, weight loss is not my focus, but, never-the-less, it’s important, in an obesity context and I is obese people, I is obese! Hey, I’ve been relegated (or promoted) out of the Super Morbidly Obese League and I am currently climbing down the Morbidly Obese ladder. ‘Ideal’ is some way off, but I believe I can get there. Wow, I actually really do believe it!!!

What of other, less personal, more corporate achievements. Well, other people are being encouraged and inspired to ‘have a go’ at making changes to their own lives and if I am interested in other people (and I am) I have to see this as an achievement as well. Do I want other people to get ‘healthier’? Yes I do! Are other people taking action in their own lives because of what I am doing and talking about? Yes they are! Well that right there my friend, is an achievement!

People have been great. Through keeping to my exercise regimen and talking openly about what I’m trying to do on Facebook and the blog, a growing number of people are joining me. Some people are ‘physically’ joining me (ie coming to my gym and on the walks and joddles) and others are telling me about ‘stuff’ they are doing as a result of being challenged by what I am doing. It’s amazing!

I love the word ‘sybiotic’ and it’s so appropriate in this context. People following me, commenting and giving me feedback, keeps me accountable, keeps me pushing forward, keeps me ‘keepin on’. I encourage others and they (you) encourage me – symbiosis, lovely-jubely!!! Just look at today as an example: No post last night and people get in touch today to ask what’s going on. They miss the post because (in whatever small way) it’s encouraging them, I get held to account to get back on track. Perfect!!!

So, I’m not an imposter and (hopefully) this Ambassadorship will help me get to the next level on my journey to a ‘healthier’ lifestyle. Another level of accountability. Now it’s official. I have an opportunity and a responsibility to encourage others (at the gym), to tell them about my progress and be an example to them of what is possible. Eight to ten weeks a go, I never imagined I could be an Ambassador for an ‘active lifestyle’. Maybe for Maccies or KFC, but, not an active lifestyle.

The turn-around is dramatic. Honestly guys, I’m not exaggerating, it’s dramatic and the great thing is this. If I can do it, ANYONE CAN. I tell you no lie. My life was finished (from a health perspective), over, gone. Life was sedentary, depressing, uneventful and slowly taking me to the grave, but not any more. I have life, vigour, vitality and I can tie my own shoe laces πŸ™‚Β  I am ‘healthier’ than I was 10 weeks a go and in 10 weeks time I WILL be even more ‘healthier’. Then 10 weeks after that and 10 weeks after that etcetera, etcetera, etcetera. I’m gonna do a 360 on a skateboard and show my Matthew how it’s done. I’m gonna ride a bike to Southport and beyond. I’m gonna run a 10k and beyond. I’m gonna swim a mile and beyond. I’m gonna walk/run the three peaks and beyond. I’m gonna, I’m gonna, I’m gonna!!! Fancy joining me?

Adios amigos,

Paul aka Kracker aka The Ambassador πŸ™‚

Repeat after me… “I Can Do It…!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had β€˜issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that β€˜enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, Healthier Lifestyle, Obesity, Weight Loss and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Good News :-)

  1. kitchentutor says:

    That’s so great!!! Also…

    Congratulations! You have received the Versatile Blogger award! To claim your award please visit this post:
    http://teamdewhurst.wordpress.com/2011/06/16/versatile-blogger-award/

    • paulbentley says:

      Hi. I’m shocked, flattered and slightly confused. What do I do? Do I pass it on haha. I didn’t even know that teamdewhurst read my blog πŸ™‚ Very happy, with a massive smile on my face. Thanks for letting me know.

      Yay me!! Well, I don’t mean yay ‘me’, that would be arrogant and conceited, but you know what I mean. I mean, yay to this award. Do I need a thank you speech? I must head on over and say thank you.

      Good times!!!

  2. Andy Birch says:

    Great post today, nice to have it back! And congratulations on the ambassador role, you deserve it. Just don’t start eating Forrero Rocher as ambassadors do!

    • paulbentley says:

      Thanks Andy! Dead right re the Ambassador role. I’m not going to let it go to my head. The only two requests I’ve made are a summer residence and a car and driver. Nothing too ostentatious πŸ˜‰

  3. Great news buddy! Your efforts certainly have paid off, quite literally πŸ˜€

    I am going to start leaving you a different workout to do every Thursday… fresh, challenging and fun πŸ˜‰

    • paulbentley says:

      Thanks Chris. Totally loving the fresh workout idea dude, that sounds brilliant!!! Plus thanks for the food diary thingy, I’ll start it tomorrow.

      Oh yeah!!!!!

  4. Pingback: Blogging, Fitness & Freebies « 224

  5. Pingback: A tale of two 5′s « 224

  6. Pingback: The Gusher « 224

Leave a Reply

