The Weekend Dilemma – Grandma Baked

Discuss...???

Just like last Sunday, I have mixed feelings about my weekend.

Saturday

5k – Started the day with my second timed 5k (see yesterday’s post for details) and I felt great. A new PB and a ‘fab’ posse of people to do it with. Oh yeah baby!!!

Grandma made cakes & pastries – We went from the run to Grandma’s house, dangerous! Sausage Rolls and Eccles Cakes today, fresh out of the oven and still warm. People, you have no idea of the significance of the position we found ourselves in. WE GOT THERE FIRST. First, before the rest of the kids. First, before the rest of the grand kids. First. We could have our fill before anyone else. Muhahahahahaha!!!!! I stood in the kitchen and just looked down on all that pastry-fied, sugary, current filled (the eccles cakes) goodness and I swear I started to salivate. I removed the covering from the sausage rolls and the smell just wafted up and in to my nostrils. I was in heaven and we were first. Look, don’t tell me you don’t feel the same way about tasty food. You my friend are telling ‘porkies’. Where was I? Oh yes… I removed the covering from the sausage rolls and the smell wafted up and in to my nostrils. I was making the coffee. I was in the kitchen alone. I looked left. I looked right. One sausage roll was gone. I put the coffee in the cups, milk, sugar, left, right and took my ‘second’ bite out of my first eccles cake. “Cool it Paul, steady now,” I thought. ‘But, I’ve just ran 5k.” Takes third bite and first eccles cake is gone. The kettle hadn’t even finished boiling.

Right about now, my mind is starting to turn and the possible calorific values of cakes and rolls are flitting about making noise. Have I blown today now? Have I just had about 500 calories, maybe 1000. “Have no more and you’re okay Paul,” I thought. “But, we got here first and there are lots and lots.” I finished making the coffee and licked my fingers to remove the crumbs of my second sausage roll. What! Don’t you dare judge me. They were only small 🙂

It’s two trips too and from the kitchen to take every ones coffee. Did they see me stuff the remnant of the second eccles cake in my mouth? Chew quick, wipe your face. “Hi Grandma, here’s your coffee.” *swallows quietly*

Marina Walk – We spent the rest of the day doing this-n-that and then the evening came and I went for a walk with family. As usual, it was lovely. Anti-clockwise around the first half of the lake. Up over to the beach front and a long the beach (not on the sand today) and then back around the other half of the lake and back to the Activity Centre. Lovely, just lovely. Good company, good conversation, a leisurely stroll and 1.5 miles walked without even touching the sides. God I love this place.

Mi hermano de otra Madre – is coming to England for a few days at the end of this month. Paco lives in Madrid, Spain so for tea (dinner) we had a practice run at Tortilla Espanol. Good but not great, I think we will leave it till we get the master class when he gets here. Vamos hermano. Te quiero mucho!!!

Our pastor came for a visit – and then I settled down to write my blog. One by one the family went to bed and as I turned out the lights for the night I noticed a box of eccles cakes and three jam turnovers (made from the left over pastry Grandma had). Not good. I finished off a turnover and climbed the stairs for bed. I’ve ‘defo’ blown it now?!?

Sunday

New old jeans and a new old tee for church – Every Sunday morning I’ve got in to the habit of having an ‘ickle’ fashion show with Jan. She pulls something out the wardrobe I’ve not worn for a few (or more) years and we see if it fits. Today was a pair of jeans which not only fit, but needed a belt to stay up and a tee shirt I tried on (again) the other day and it fit. The slogan on the tee is ‘Jesus loves everyone but I’m His favourite’ Man I love that tee and it causes quite a debate haha. Feel free to add your two cents worth. Am I bad to wear it? Is it offensive? Discuss.

Breakfast – Did the family see me eat the eccles cake just before we left for church? Just one more left and a jam turnover.

Church was great played some saxophone, some congas and the Word was great, given by Pastor Dave Cave. In brief: God wants us to be like Peter, the ‘and immediately’ kind of guy.

Back to Grandmas – but no eccles cakes and sausage rolls, thank God 🙂 I did however, have a (two) chocolate caramel wafers whilst making the coffee. They are so scrumptious. Why oh why does she have them in the cupboard? That there my friend is a slippery slope.

Yes, I know. You are right. Yesterday is kind of okay. Grandma has baked, it’s kind of a one off (although she does bake most weekends) and you got there first. Write off Saturday, fine, but this, this Paul is you just eating chocolate because you can. I repeat, that there my friend is a slippery slope. I know. Look, I’ve always said from the beginning, I’ve not stopped eating the tasty (crappy) food I like (love) to eat. I want to achieve a balance. Eat some, just not too much, not too often.

Home – Not sure what we are having for tea, but, it’s gonna be healthy. Hopefully I’m going for a walk still too, but may not tonight. Writing my blog early for a change cos I want a movie night with the sprogs (kids). Me thinks this is good.

Needless to say, I plan a big day in the gym tomorrow 🙂

Thanks as ever for reading guys. Enjoy the rest of your Sunday and I’ll see you all tomorrow.

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

Ps. We can do this, we can get ‘healthier’. We can eat (in moderation) the stuff we love as long as we are taking action to change the way we live. No diet, no abstinence, just balance. Physical exercise and physical activity as a part of who we are, with some ‘healthier’ choices in the food we eat. We can make the change. With lots of encouragement and support from and towards others, we can do it!!!

Repeat after me, “I Can Do It…!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Diet, Exercise, Fitness, Friends, God, Healthier Lifestyle, I Can Do It, Obesity, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Weekend Dilemma – Grandma Baked

  1. momfog says:

    At least you didn’t scarf down the whole plate. I probably would have. 🙂 You know you’re entitled to a treat now and then. You are not on a diet! It might be a good idea to avoid your grandma’s kitchen as much as possible on future baking days. I’m sure she won’t mind making the coffee.

    About the shirt. We’re all Jesus’s favorites. He’s awesome enough for that to be possible.

Leave a Reply

