High Five Updates

See below for details. It's awesome πŸ™‚

Look I know it’s a bit stupid and possibly unnecessary, but I love to get my post in before midnight so that I actually post everyday. Time is against me (as usual) as it’s 22.45pm, so let’s see how we go.

Number One – One of my favourite tee shirts fits me again. Yay me!!!!!

Numero Dos – I really feel like I’m winning the respect of the people (and staff) in the gym. I know it’s not important really, but it really is! πŸ™‚ Do you understand what I mean? It’s hard to explain, but, fat people help me out here, you know what it’s like. I offer this by way of a general explanation:

  • Fat person walks in to a gym.
  • Fit people (and most of the staff) look fat person up and down disapprovingly.
  • Fat person feels intimidated by fit people.
  • Fat person attends a few times and fit people take bets on when fat person will give up.
  • Fat person continues and after a couple of weeks, gets his first nod/eye brow raise of acknowledgement by a fit person.
  • Fat person feels 10ft tall.
  • Another week passes and fit person observes a noticeable difference in fat persons shape and/or sees fat person ‘going for it’ on the treadmill.
  • Fit person says hello and offers that all important phrase of acceptance, “how long have you been coming now, you’re doing really well aren’t you.”
  • The Hallelujah Chorus begins to play.
  • Fat person now feels accepted and uses all machines/weights without that feeling of ‘not belonging’.
  • Fat person walks in to ‘his’ gym.

Like I say, the above is in general terms and of course there are a number of gyms/fit people/instructors who can make a fat person feel at ease very early on. I must say, that, that has been my experience at Crosby Lakeside. The staff and regulars really made me feel welcome and this helped and aided my transition to ‘gym attender’ so much.

Let’s face it though fat friends, most of the stuff I mentioned above, is in the mind of most fatties. It’s a difficult step, it’s intimidating and we think everyone is looking at us, judging us. Some are, but, not all. Be encouraged and get down to your local gym and take that massive step that starts your change.

Number Three – I’ve started playing squash again. Yes I know! Paul, it’s so dangerous. People have heart attacks on the squash court. Be careful. Watch your knees. Thank you, thank you, thank you, for the well intended words of concern, but your missing the point – I’ve started playing squash again!!!! πŸ™‚

I’ve not played for soooooo many years. Yes I’m slower, yes it’s gonna take time to start playing well again, but if I can haul ass’ around the court, have a controlled (65-75%) heart rate AND WIN GAMES, what’s wrong with that. Ain’t that right Michael, Lore πŸ˜‰ Oh the joy of winning.

Number Three – I am so thrilled by the number of positive comments I am getting. Comments on the blog and on my Facebook page, wow. Genuinely guys, I am so grateful that you like my little ramblings up here on the inter-web. The biggest thrill, by far, is when someone says that having read my blog, they feel inspired to make some changes to their own lifestyle, double wow! Actually, more of a whoa! I find this a-mazing!!!!! People are starting to go to the gym, they’re going on regular walks, they’re thinking about their food and it’s in part because of my liddle blog 224. Oh yeah!!!

Numero Quatro – I’m getting my confidence and self belief back – Nuff said. Maybe I’ll share some more about this some another time when we’ve got to know each other a bit better. For now though, just join me in saying – Come On!!!!! And finally:

Number Five – I’ve got some great news to tell you, but, not yet πŸ™‚ Watch this space…

All this and I’ve not even mentioned the new embryonic business venture, the videos, the software idea, the event idea or the sponsorship ideas. Somebody give me some water, cos I’m hot!!!!

Life is good people and no longer, do I think (everyday) about dying of a heart attack and my life being over at 42 years of age. Yes seriously, I thought and worried about it everyday. No way Jose. I’m still a young ‘whipper-snapper’ and God willing I’m gonna be here for some time yet πŸ™‚

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

4:13

Ps. Did you know: If you look at a persons elbow, you NEVER miss a ‘high five’ – FACT. Try it. Kudos to Kathryn (Mum of Charlotte) Morgan for this truly stunning information. I’ve not shut up about it for days.

23.52pm – Almost time to ‘publish’Β  πŸ™‚

Luego

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had β€˜issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that β€˜enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to High Five Updates

  1. momfog says:

    I completely understand number 2. Acceptance is important to most everybody, whether they admit it or not.

    Congratulations on all the rest and I’ll look for the good news.

    • paulbentley says:

      I know number two shouldn’t be important, but it so is. We should be ‘strong enough’ to not need to be accepted or validated, but hey, it’s a side of my humanity and it’s a part of me. It takes ‘all sorts’ as they say and I suppose for every person in the gym who is looking down there nose at me, there is someone else who is feeling encouraged by me πŸ™‚ Swings and round-abouts.

      Thanks as ever foggy.

  2. kitchentutor says:

    I finished day 2 of my push-up / sit-up challenge! It’s not exactly a vigorous workout but my abs and arms are sore so I think something is happening?!

    OK… gotta go high five my husband now to test the theory πŸ™‚

  3. Andy Birch says:

    I really enjoy my daily 224 read. I don’t always or often comment but reading your blog has become part of my daily routine while sat on the train every weekday morning. Great stuff!

    • paulbentley says:

      So you mean you don’t read it at the weekend?!? πŸ˜‰

      Thanks Andy. It’s become a very important part of my daily routine and really helps me stay focused on what I’m doing. The comments and feedback aid that focus all the more. I’m extremely grateful!!!

  4. Team Oyeniyi says:

    Yay for the shirt! And all the other stuff, but fitting back into something is always a great motivator!!!

  5. Lucy Birch says:

    Great post Paul, but some of those Fit people looking at you may well have been Fat so dont think they would look down on you. I have a few bigger mates and i’m always trying to encourage them to join me in my various exploits (whether it be walking, running or cycling, ), i think people just need supporting to start a healthier way of life. You are doing superb Paul. However maybe you dont need to go to the gym and you should look into this instead http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=52-omtSBws8 doesn’t cost any gym membership and encourages you and Jan to be together;)

Leave a Reply

