Enforced Recovery Time

Chillax baby. Sit back and chillax!!!

I’ve not been to the gym today – gasp, shock, horror!!

I know, it’s weird. I wanted to go, but time ran away and the gym closed for the evening. Then, I arranged for one of my training ‘buddies’ to come over to the house for some circuits and pad work, but, he fell asleep (you know who you are) and didn’t come 😦 Slightly frustrated (again you know who you are) I thought of going out for a joddle, but decided against it, so, I’ve now decided that today is a recovery day. No exercise, no sweating, no heart rate monitor strap around my chest (I actually feel naked), just an ordinary day/evening at home.

It’s probably a good thing if I’m honest. I’ve been to the gym nearly everyday for weeks. If not the gym, I’ve been joddling and then walking every evening. Yep, probably good to have a rest day. Actually I have had some muscular pain in the tops of my arms and shoulders (probably from weight training) and I’ve cricked my neck, so I could do with giving my body a rest. I apologies if you don’t know the word ‘crick’, I don’t actually know how to explain it differently. You usually crick your neck when you sleep awkwardly and you get this pain down one side of your neck and you can’t turn your head unless you turn your body as well, kind of robot styley. I suppose it’s similar to whiplash. Anyway, I’ve had a cricked neck for three days and it’s ‘doing my head in’, hopefully if I don’t train, tomorrow will be crickless.

In other news…

I had a great time in church today (calm down I’m not gonna get all spiritual and preachy). Played congas, sang a bit and I gave testimony (got up out front and spoke to the congregation) about my ‘healthier’ lifestyle push. As usual, I got emotional, blubbed a couple of sentences and didn’t say everything I wanted to say. I am the ultimate meff!

Bentley dictionary def: Meff

The word ‘meff’ is a made up word which we in the Bentley household use as a term of endearment towards each other. Usually accompanied by words such as lazy, fat, smelly, big or ‘such a’. In relation to discipline in the home, if the kids hear the word meff whilst being told off, they know they are okay and punishment will not usually accompany the ‘telling off’. If the word meff is not used, they know they are in big trouble.

Example scenario: Joel has arrived home late and not told us. Here are the response options.

(1) I say, “what time do you call this, you are such a meff. Phone next time!” Joel sighs a sigh of relief because there is no punishment on it’s way.

(2) If on the other hand I reply, “how many times have I told you to let me know when you are going to be late. We’ll talk about this in the morning.”

Oh dear!

Still more news…

My amazingly wonderful wife is on nights. She is a midwife and being on nights usually means the house slowly becomes more and more untidy as the days go by. I am not the greatest at being a house husband. In fact let’s face it, I’m not a house husband. At the moment, I’m supposed to be a house husband (since I lost my job that is) but I’m being a rubbish one. Maybe, just maybe, by admitting this to you guys, it will have the same accountability effect that talking about my ‘healthier’ lifestyle has had.

I love Jan so much (I’m in so much trouble for talking to you about her) and she works so hard for our family. Some time soon, I’m going to repay her for all her sacrifices, especially those she has made over the last 15 months or so since I’ve been jobless. The jobless thing is a whole other story, one day, maybe I’ll tell you all about it – when we get to know each other a bit better 🙂 For now though, I just want to pay tribute to Jan ‘Solly’ Bentley, my best friend, wife and life partner. Have a great night honey. Be safe and well as you help bring someone’s baby in to the world tonight and I’ll see you in the morning.

That’s all folks. I’m off to catch up on my blog subscriptions and reply to some comments. Gym (and sweating) starts again in earnest tomorrow. Expect the odd mad cap video along the way. Sleep well and tomorrow, why not take a little step. Do an itsy-bitsy-teensy-weensy little something that will help you be healthier than you were today. That right there, is a positive change for good 🙂

Repeat after me – “I Can Do It…!”

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

4:13

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Family, Health, Healthier Lifestyle, Marriage, Obesity, Physical Health, Relationships, Spiritual Health, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Enforced Recovery Time

  1. momfog says:

    You’re supposed to rest on Sundays anyway. I like an afternoon nap after church and Sunday (portion controlled) dinner myself.

    “Crick” is a perfectly good word. I use it all the time.

  2. Great post. If you’ve read much of my blog, I believe is resting some and not pushing exercise, although I don’t always take my own advice. 😀

    • paulbentley says:

      Yeah, rest is so important, especially if (like me) exercise is more of a focus than food changes. I have changed my eating right enough, but, it’s increased calorie and (more specifically) fat burning I’m going for.

      I totally hear you re not taking your own advice. I think many of us are the same.

  3. kitchentutor says:

    I’m a huge fan of your words about your wife 🙂 Our culture breeds everything but that and I find it very uplifting. Good on ya! Also, I’m a huge fan of midwives so that helps too 😉

    Hope you’re rested and ready for MONDAY!!!!

    • paulbentley says:

      Thanks for that. I think our culture is pretty similar to your own. I think it’s just me. I’m a ‘gusher’. Always have been, probably always will be. I’m not complaining. I like that about myself. My wife, kids, friends etc. You name them, at some point or other I’ll gush about them. My kids rib me about it constantly.

      Monday was great, as was today.

      Thanks as ever for the support!!

Leave a Reply

