Mix it up and make a change

It's good to change...

So, I got to the gym this morning, but, I couldn’t stay for long as I had to take my Mother-in-law to the dentist (more about my dentist later).

“What shall I do?” I ask myself. I’ve got an hour max and I want to have a good workout. I opted for Interval Training on the exercise bike. Three mins level 7, then three mins level 15/16. Do this for say 30mins and then a row or some weights, that should do it. In walks Chris Mulvaney one of the fitness instructors and he comes over to me just as I’m beginning the session. “How long are you here for Paul?” he asks. “Oh about an hour max today” says I. “Good, that should be long enough, get off the bike.” One hour later I am a sweaty mess and ready to drop. Go Chris!

Chris took me through a great little legs & arms weights routine, that kept my heart rate at THR (Target Heart Rate), but absolutely did the trick in under an hour. Win, win situation right there.

Here’s what we did. Adjust the heaviness of the weights to suit your size and ability. Remember – Take advice, I’m not a professional, I’m not prescribing you do this, I’m just sharing my own personal experience. Consider your self disclaimed 😉

1. Lunges
2. Single Arm Row – 22kg dumbbells
3. Single Leg Step Ups – 14kg dumbbells
4. Alternating Chest Press – 14kg dumbbells
5. Squat To Press – 8kg Ball
6. Bicep Curl To Shoulder Press – 10kg dumbbells
7* One mile on the Cross-Trainer

– Each exercise was 1 set of 12 reps.
– All exercises completed = 1 Lap
– Three Laps in total
– 60sec rest between laps
* The Cross-Trainer was only done once at the end of the three laps.

I was absolutely ‘knackered’ after this, but in a good way. How hard are lunges?

What was so fantastic about this, was this, I thought I was coming in to do a bit of a ‘filler’ session on the bike. I hadn’t really sorted out in my mind what I was doing today, but, I would have done intervals on the bike. Don’t get me wrong, intervals are great, but, I’ve done them a few times now. Doing Chris’s session was a real shock to the system, I really enjoyed it and now I have another little routine to add to my repertoire. All good baby, all good.

Do you do this, change things around I mean? Or are you stuck in a bit of a rut? If you are, speak to one of the instructors at your gym and ask them for help. If they are anything like Chris, they will be more than happy to help and glad you want their advice and support. I realise you can get some pretty poor quality, lazy instructor types. You know who they are. The ones who just strut around showing off their sculpture looking down on the fatties and the GP (doctor) referrals. At another gym I used to attend, the instructors were just like that. If they are like that at your gym, GO SOMEWHERE ELSE! There are a glut of gyms and fitness studios out there that want your business. Find one that makes you feel like they’re glad you are there and not just some fat reject who isn’t going to last a week.

A friend of mine was going to a gym a few years a go. He was motivated, he was serious, he really wanted to do something, to make changes. He started out at a gym, but, this one member of staff looked down their nose at him. They never had an encouraging word, they walked past and ignored my friend and everyday my friend would say hello and try and make conversation. Nothing! The instructor, gave the odd smile but didn’t engage my friend positively at all – until he lost tonnes of weight. All of a sudden my friend has a new best friend who was now trying to claim some responsibility for my friends great losses. Wrong, wrong, wrong and it makes me mad.

Look I get it. Most of the fatties who come in, maybe last a week, two weeks, a month at most. However, if you (the professional) engaged those fatties a bit more, made them feel like you are happy to see them, maybe, just maybe, a few of those fatties would stay. To use a local colloquialism, it ‘wrecks my ‘ed!’ Fatties are judged and have to ‘prove’ themselves to gain the respect on the instructors. I say again, yes I get it, I understand the cynicism, but, a few of those ‘chubsters’ who didn’t stay, wanted too, they just didn’t feel welcome. Nuff said!

Indulge me slightly, as I go off blog a tad and pay tribute to my amazing dentist.

Say hello to Abel Rodriguez.

Senior Abel Rodriguez !!!!!!

Abel has single-handedly removed my fear of the dentist. For years, I have been petrified by everything dental. The smell, chair, drill, needles, suction etc. You name it, I hate it. Step up and take a bow, Senior Rodriguez.

I just wanted to give him a ‘shout out’ and say thanks to him for ‘sorting me out’. I am now his walking advertisement, singing his praises and getting my family (Grandma went today) and friends (LJ goes and Sue is going soon) to attend his practice. As my wife would tell you, I have a mouth like a burned out fuse box, but not for long friends, no way Jose. Four teeth down and three to go and I should have near Hollywood smile back 🙂 I love to smile, I love to laugh, but I spend most of the time hiding my teeth. I’ll make sure I post a good broad one when all the work is done.

So, Senior Rodriguez, I salute you, and say muchas gracias for removing my fear!!!

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

4:13

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mix it up and make a change

  1. momfog says:

    It’s funny. When I went to the gym, I wanted to be invisible until I lost the weight. That is terrible and probably why it didn’t work. I lasted 2 months, 28 lbs. gone. It’s hard to go it alone.
    The dentist. Ay caramba. I loathe going to the dentist. I hope yours is giving you credit for all the referrals. 🙂

    • paulbentley says:

      I can totally relate to the wanting to be ‘invisible’. 28lbs lost was fantastic!!!!! You should try and get back, it was obviously working. Going it alone IS really hard. I’m blessed with a few people who want to go to the gym with me now and that helps me, but that has grown over the weeks I’ve been going on about it on fb and here on the blog. I never shut up 😉 You may be surprised to find a neighbour, family member, interest group member, who would want to go with you. If not, depending on what gym you go too, you can strike up new friendships with people there! I say ‘depends which gym’ because I HATE the real poser, muscle crunching, self centred, egotistical, self obsessed *stop Paul you’ve made your point* type of gyms you can end up going too. Hate, hate, hate. I think you get my point. Plus, it’s not to be the gym. Tennis, squash, badminton, cycling – anything.

      Re the dentist, my family think I’m crazy, blogging about my dentist, but hey, I’m cured of my fear, that’s huge and he deserves the credit for it. I even hope he reads this comment and gets a nice warm fuzzy glow 🙂

      Thanks for all the blog comments foggy, I appreciate them all!!

      • momfog says:

        We are members of the YMCA, definitely a more family oriented, easy going type of place. They offer childcare for up to 2 hours per day. I’m thinking about a spinning class and maybe a yoga/pilates. You are definitely an inspiration. Thanks.

      • paulbentley says:

        That is great news re the YMCA!!! Not tried spinning yet, although a friend of mine is trying to organise a class. It sounds terrifying! Pilates is awesome!!! I started going about a month a go and I love it. That said, I have been unable to go for two weeks. I really must find another class on a better day for me.

        You go girl!!!!!

  2. Abel Rodríguez says:

    Hola Paul;

    It’s really nice to work with people like you, making my job more easy and grateful. Like you there’s a lot of people terrified about dentistry… and some time it’s a shame…
    by the way, I just want to say thank you for your post in your blog.

    Hasta pronto amigo

    • paulbentley says:

      Hola Abel,

      Gracias por leer mi blog. Ha quitado el miedo del dentista y la silla. Por eso, estoy muy agradecido.

      En unas semanas tengo una barbacoa para mi amigo de Madrid. Tal vez vendrá si os invito 🙂

      Gracias de nuevo amigo.

      Hasta luego

Leave a Reply

