The Workman’s Gymnasium (Yard Project Day 3)

Get to work and burn that fat baby!!!

I couldn’t go to the gym today because there was a full day of work to be done on the ‘Yard Project’. I uploaded some photographs of the first couple of days work here and here, so today (although not running consecutively) was Day 3 – Oh Yeah!!!!! Big day today. We had to fill a skip (metal container) with all the rubble and rubbish to clear the area ready for the Decking to be laid in place.

Myself and Michael (nephew and gym buddy) were disappointed we would be missing the gym, but hey, we had an idea! Why not bring the gym to the workplace 🙂 The Workman’s Gymnasium was born!!!

On went the heart rate monitor watches and telemetry straps and on went the ‘gym focus’. We decided with each run of our wheel barrows we were going to do an Interval Workout. Fill the barrow, run the barrow, empty the barrow (the work interval). Walk the barrow back (the recovery interval). Boom, who needs to go to the gym when you can bring the gym to you. What made the work intervals even harder was the tyres on the barrows being flat 😦 Thanks a lot HSS Hire Shops. All in all though, what a result. We had two good work outs (before and after lunch) and we got the job done. Jan (the boss) was happy, we were happy and my ‘healthier’ lifestyle was still in full effect.

You may have noticed yesterday, that I’m experimenting in video 😀 Today was a perfect opportunity to experiment some more. These videos are rough, rough, damn rough, but guys, recording a few self deprecating videos is just one more string to my social networking accountability bow. I’m using my Facebook, my blog and now these videos, to just keep me keen, keep me motivated and keep me going. In the UK there is a major food store with the strap line ‘Every little helps’, well, for me and my journey to health and fitness, every little (thing I do) helps.

Watch the videos and let me know what you think. Do you want more? Should I stick to the written word alone? Actually, I’ve got to be honest, I’m going to carry on doing them (cos I’m enjoying it) so your answers are irrelevant really haha, I suppose it would be nice to know though hey. Okay ‘stills’ of the day are below and here are the video links:

The Workman’s Gymnasium

The Workman’s Gymnasium (2)

Man I love my blog!!!!!

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

Repeat after me, “I Can Do It…!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Workman’s Gymnasium (Yard Project Day 3)

  1. momfog says:

    I love The Workman’s Gymnasium. It’s very “Rocky IV”–the one with the Russian. 🙂

    My son and I took our first walk yesterday. I promised him I’d do everything he has to do so he wouldn’t feel singled out. It’s a good thing for both of us and he hasn’t complained. Although I suspect that has something to do with the new video game he’s been promised when he reaches his target weight and not because he loves walking with his mom. Whatever works, right?

    • paulbentley says:

      I like your thought process there momfog. Yeah, I can see a Rocky thang going on. To be honest more Rocky Horror than Rocky Balboa, but hey, it’s Rocky.

      Great news re the walk with your son. The video game idea was genius, an incentive is ALWAYS a good thing. Gonna be hard to maintain that kind of financial outlay though. Maybe a banana next time. Thrilled for you though, well done you!!!

Leave a Reply

