Joddle – The Movie

A joddle by the beach - B.e.a.utiful !!!

I didn’t have a great session at the gym this morning for two reasons.

(1) Firstly I realised that because I’m getting fitter, I have to change up my training. It’s taking longer to get to my (THR) because I’m getting a healthier heart (whoa hoo!!!) so the resistance level on the bike is increasing and causing me some knee pain. I had a word with Chris from Olympic Fitness Coach and he recommended I start using the bike for Recovery or Interval Training and keep to the Treadmill and X-Trainer for cardio. That sounded cool, so that’s the plan for tomorrow.

(2) The second reason was I had to cut the training short because I was meeting a rubbish removal man over at the house (see my DIY photographs), so I came away from the gym pretty dissatisfied with my cardio for the day 😦 I needed to take action…

It was time for joddle number two

Of an evening we have been going for walks by the beach. I tried my first outdoor joddle there a week or so a go, so I decided today was the day for ‘J2’. The knee is feeling better, I have my new asics, why not, let’s go baby!! Now, bare in mind that I was amazed at how much more difficult running outside was compared to the treadmill when I first tried this. Was I ready for J2? Was the knee going to give in? Do I have any hope of doing this 10k in June if I don’t start now? Answers: Yes, No, No. J2 was a go!

Not satisfied with just doing the joddle, I decided I wanted to beat my first time of 24mins. It’s 2.5k so 24mins is pretty woeful, but to be fair I was closer to my starting weight of 391lbs at the time. I’m currently 367lbs (still enormous) so I was hopeful of a new PB (Personal Best) – Yeah baby!!!

Also I want to start doing a few videos for the blog so I had a ‘ickle’ go. Note to self, do not video with the sun behind you, it has the same effect as on a photograph.

Check out the video here and let me know what you think.

Did I beat my time? See below for details:

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Joddle – The Movie

  1. momfog says:

    Great job! I think you should do your little silly run for the entire time, though. (That bit with the arms). I would pay to see that. 🙂

    • paulbentley says:

      Haha, thank you for that!!! I enjoyed my little ‘skip-to-maloo-my-darling’. Maybe on the the next joddle video I’ll dedicate a skip segment to momfog 😛

Leave a Reply

