What’s my problem?

What's my problem? No really, what is my problem?

I was going to blog about something completely different tonight, but then a friend of mine posted a video on Facebook and it completely blew me away.

I don’t really know where to start and I don’t really know how to relate this video to my ‘healthier’ lifestyle writings, but I do know that there is something in it that, if I fully grasp it and apply it to my own life, it will help me so much in trying to achieve my goals. So bare with me if a ‘waffle’ as I try and put this in to words.

Rick Hoyt has cerebral palsy and is therefore wheelchair bound. One day he asks his Dad Dick Hoyt if he would run a marathon with him. Dick says yes and not long after, Dick runs the Boston Marathon pushing Rick in his chair. Some time later, Rick asks his Dad to do the Ironman with him (2.5m swim, 112m bike ride and a 26.2m marathon). Dad says yes and some time later they complete the Ironman together. Wow!

Hello, did you hear that? Dick Hoyt completed the Ironman pulling a dingy whilst swimming, riding with a passenger and running pushing a chair. As I watched the video my jaw just dropped as this Father and Son combo pull off one of the most amazing physical feats I’ve ever seen. My mind started doing overtime and I was struck by two things, (1) the love this Dad had for his Son and (2) physically what this Dad was capable of achieving.

What’s my problem, I thought. I mean, seriously, tell me, what’s my problem? I can do this! I can change. I can be healthier. I can turn my life around. I know I can and watching this video gives me even more confidence that I will. There is no telling what you can do if you put your mind to it, that’s for definate, just ask Dick.

My life is by no means over. So what I’m 42. So what I’m jobless right now for the first time in I don’t know how many years, so what I’m fat (for now anyway). You can achieve anything. Change for you, change for loved ones, change for good!!!

Don’t know if I’ve said enough in this post. I hope you see what I’m driving at. I’ll maybe post about it again when I’ve not got writers block.

See here and here for links to video and web address.

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

Ps – I must apologies my writing head isn’t really in gear tonight and I’m pretty sure if you watch the video you will get some sense of what I’m trying to say.

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What’s my problem?

  1. alfalfa says:

    Its true if you set your mind to anything you can do it. Nothing was impossible for the dad in relation to his son, and the son believed in his dad who believed in him. Sometimes ‘yes I can’ is the key, but mostly ‘yes WE can’ when loved ones are with us.

  2. momfog says:

    You’re crystal clear. I love these kinds of stories. they’re great for the times when we find ourselves whining or making excuses for ourselves.

    • paulbentley says:

      Correct-amundo. There is no excuse. Okay, so I realise some people have extremely difficult individual circumstances and I don’t want to come across all judgemental, but, the truth is (and I’m saying this to me) we can do anything we set our minds too.

  3. kitchentutor says:

    I remember watching their first Ironman event and it blew me away!! I also was struck by how I was even more physically capable but not doing anything but lay on the couch and watch the Ironman. Because of their story I made it my one thing I would love to do before I die, as far as far out stuff, to complete an Ironman. I started running about 4 months ago and quit cause of my asthma… but I have an inhaler now… OK… I’m going to get back at it… thanks Paul!!!!! Also, LOVE this video… short but pretty convicting…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=obdd31Q9PqA

Leave a Reply

