Let’s get physical

I’m still loving going to the gym. I suppose it’s because it’s not even two months yet though. I’m mixing up my training to keep things fresh, lots and lots of cardio, an increasing amount of weights and the odd class thrown in too (Pilates is the future!) but surely there is going to come a point when I hit some kind of wall and I can’t be bothered or I’m just bored of what I’m doing. It’s bound to happen, isn’t it? I hope not. What I really want to happen, is for the training to get so engrained in to my daily life that I just accept it’s role and continue to find it interesting, fun and effective.

I would categorise the gym as my ‘physical exercise’, but there is something else I’ve been doing, which I find equally rewarding. Although not as effective from a fat/calorie burning perspective, it has become as much a part of my daily routine and it’s one that I find I must do, just as much as my cardio. It is simply this. Most evenings around 6-7pm I go for a walk by the beach with family and friends. It’s less physical exercise and more ‘physical activity’, but, it adds a further string to my ‘healthier’ lifestyle bow. I’m not going all out here to break a sweat. I’m not checking my heart rate monitor to make sure I’m at (THR), I’m not clocking distance or calories or time, I’m just walking and talking and laughing, with family and friends and it’s just great.

Physical exercise is great (especially if you have to shift as much weight as I do) but, I think the key to a ‘healthier’ lifestyle is as much about increasing you physical activity as it is doing exercise. Some of you, I’m sure, will see my walks as exercise and that’s okay if you do, but, for me, it doesn’t feel like exercise. Instead, it feels like a pleasant and rewarding activity that feeds my soul as much as it feeds my body health.

Is there something similar that you can do? Some place similar where you can go? It may not be a beach, maybe a park, a river, a forest, just somewhere were you can go and be active with folk. I would highly recommend you include it in your programme. It may not be the activity that loses you that next pound before you hit the scales (scales are of the devil) but it may do so much more for you in terms of your mental health and well being.

I love my beach and Marina. The sad thing is, this beach has been on our doorstep for just on three years (when we moved to the area) and we’ve never really utilised it. It’s a travesty I tell you!! My kids are getting fed up of me saying it, but, every time I think about how much time we’ve wasted not coming to this really beautiful and picturesque setting, I feel angry with myself. Thank God I’m there now, better late than never, right?

So, physical exercise and increased physical activity, that there, is the key, not just to weight loss but to so much more besides. Give it a go today!!!

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Let’s get physical

  1. 14 Semanas says:

    I totally feel the same in terms of possibly hitting a wall at some point with the gym routine, and I am crossing my fingers that I just get addicted or hooked! I think your nightly walks on the beach are amazing- I wish I had something that beautiful to inspire me to get some more physical activity in! I’m hoping I find something soon 🙂 Keep it up chico, estas haciendo muy muy bien!

    • paulbentley says:

      Gracias chica, We need to keep each other strong and never forget why we started on this journey. Unless I get totally addicted to the gym, I need to keep my workouts to no more than an hour (give or take). I do cardio everyday and weights every other. Obviously the days with weights are longer sessions. I find training to my Training Heart Rate (THR) really gives me the belief that I am fat burning and my results so far (I think) would suggest it is an effective method of training. If you’ve not read anything about THR check this post

      Luego 🙂

      “We Can Do It…!”

  2. momfog says:

    My husband recently took up golf and he walks, no cart. He’s already making a big to-do of tightening his belt in my presence. Show off.

    • paulbentley says:

      I love golf, but I lost my job and it became financially difficult to continue. Depending on the length of the course, it’s a good 3-4 mile walk, so high 5’s to the hubby.

      • momfog says:

        Yes, high 5s, congratulations, and all of that, but is it necessary to rub his shrinking waistline in my face? I think not.

        And yes, golf is expensive. It’s cheaper to get a gym membership and a monthly massage.

  3. You are doing great, Paul! Im so impressed with you and how you keep yourself motivated. Have you tried spinning yet? I have just had a spinning class today. It feels great, and its a fun way to excercise. I really recomend it. Keep it up, baby:-) Never give up:-) Go-go-go! xxx Kristin

    • paulbentley says:

      Tried to book in to a spinning class last Saturday but it was fully booked. A friend of mine is trying to sort it for next week. I’m looking forward to trying it.

      Just want to say again how much I love your photography Kristin. You have a real eye for capturing a moment, colour and beauty. How about an exhibition? Keep it up!!!!!

      Thanks for the support, I’m going to do this Kristin, I really am. Hang on, what am I saying, I ALREADY AM doing it.

      Big love,

Leave a Reply

