Superman is dead.

You dead sucker!!!

My son would like to watch Blue Bloods with me, so he has asked me to be quick with my blog post today. How can I be quick though when I have some momentous news to share with you guys. This news is so good, so huge, so important, that I can’t just be quick about it. I need to savour the moment and enjoy the telling. I need to fully express my feelings and convey my excitement. Plus, anyway, I really enjoy writing my blog so Joel (and Blue Bloods) will just have to wait.

To be honest, it won’t take long to tell you what I want to tell you, so I will also update you on my ‘yard project day two’. I’m sure you are all desperate to know what’s happened haha.

So, the main news. Well (as ever) the clue is in the title of the post, today’s being, “Superman is dead.” People of the blog-osphere, I am very happy to tell you, so very pleased to report, that as of yesterday (although I only found out today) I am no longer ‘super morbidly obese’. Yes my friends, you heard it here first, Paul (aka Kracker) Bentley is no longer a super morbid man. He’s left that team, he’s served his time and given notice that he will NEVER return. You see, with a new and improved BMI of 49.8 (yes I know it’s still horrendous but it’s dropping) Mr B is now a fully fledged member of the ‘morbidly obese’ club. Okay enough of the writing in the third person, I can’t remember who is speaking.

Guys, my BMI has dropped from 51 (super morbid) to 49.8 (morbid) and I am totally, as we say in Liverpool, ‘made up’. Look I’m not stupid, I know it’s only (in the grand scheme of things) a tiny drop in BMI, but, that’s not the point! The point is this, I know belong to a whole new classification and for the first time (like forever) it’s a classification in the right direction, namely, DOWNWARDS !! I’ve got a long way to go until I hit the next classification, ‘severely’ (39), but hey, this aint’ no 100 metre sprint I’m running. No way people, I’m in this for the long-haul. It’s taken me 42 years to get to this obese state, I can live with it taking me a few years until I’m just ‘overweight’ (26-29), or, ‘ideal’ (19-25). To be honest, I’m not sure I will ever hit ‘ideal’ or if I even want too. The upper range of ‘ideal’ for me, works out to be 182lbs (13st). I think if I hit that I would look too thin. What do you think?

BMI isn’t the final say on looking and feeling healthy. It has gravitas for sure, but there are alternatives or (more accurately) other complimentary methods which you should also consult for a holistic view of your healthiness.

49.8 hey! Well I never. This is just the beginning people. With hard work, accountability and encouragement I’ll make it! You see, I now know and I really do mean I know, “I Can Do It…!”

Yard Project Day 2 (see photographs for details)

Day two has gone really well. The rest of the pond is gone (down to a level we want to keep) and the dog kennel has also been smashed to smithereens (nice word). Rubble and rubbish is now piled up high and the next stage is ‘clearing the decks’ ready for the decking to be fitted. There will be a few days delay now as we need to wait until Monday before we can tip the rubble and it will then be another couple of weeks before it’s fitted, but that’s no big deal.

Enjoy the pictures below and let’s all ‘keep on keepin on’.

Adios amigos y amigas.

Paul

“I Can Do It…!”

Day 2 in pictures:

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle, healthy lifestyle, Obesity, Weight Loss and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Superman is dead.

  1. momfog says:

    Good work! On you and your yard.

  2. 14 Semanas says:

    Congratulations! Amazing progress 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Workman’s Gymnasium (Yard Project Day 3) « 224

  4. Callie says:

    Good morning Paul! A friend of mine stumbled upon your blog and suggested I look at it. I began my own blog in January of this year. I post short devotionals, recipes, stories about my kids and our dogs etc… but a couple of months ago, I added a categories called Weigh-In-Wednesdays. I have struggles with weight for the greater part of my adult life; knowing what it is to be very fit and healthy and now to be at the worst health and highest weight of my life.I have become an emotional eater, and have turned food into my idol. I hate this.
    I will continue reading your blog and encourage you in your fight! Christ has already overcome, and in HIM, you are more than a conqueror. May He go before you in this.
    Feel free to check out my blog;Saltnstuff.wordpress.com. I may be referring my readers to you on one of my Weigh-in-Wednesdays if that would be okay with you.
    Callie with Salt-n-Stuff

    • paulbentley says:

      Hi Callie, Thanks for liking the blog and for the support. Be assured my support comes right back at you!!! God is our help of that I am sure and He can help us over come any and every obstacle. I thank Him so much for answering my prayers in helping me reclaim my physical life.

      If you have been very fit and healthy before, you can do it again!!!!! 🙂 I believe it whole-heartedly. I’ll subscribe to your blog and keep checking in with you. Please, please pass my blog on to your friends and readers. This is my accountability structure and the more readers I have, the less chance I have of turning back.

      Our God is Great – Phil 4:13

      Paul

  5. Pingback: BMI or Not – That is the question | 224

Leave a Reply

