I really am – ‘A New Man’

I'm one happy puppy right now. I just can't stop smiling 🙂

What a great day people.

It actually started out with what I thought was going to be a pretty average session at the gym. You see, unfortunately, I have my first ‘training injury’ 😦 Yesterday whilst doing squats, I went too low (way below 90°) and got a really nasty twinge in my knee when trying to push up. Doing too much you see. Thinking I can run well before I can walk. I should have listened to Chris but oh no, I know best – not! Anyhoo, the session wasn’t too bad. Not much cardio, but hammered the weights (responsibly). Ended up being a great session. Big thanks to my nephew, Michael Tyms for completely killing the session with me, especially the weights.

On returning home, after a bite to eat, I felt really fresh. We want to remodel our small yard and make it a more accessible and people friendly space. The person who owned the house before us, built a 10 by 12 brick pond at the back which takes up sooooo much space. We’ve been saying for years (three to be exact) that we were going to use it, but we never have. It was time for it to go, to be replaced by a lovely decked area, so, today was ‘D’ day. ‘D’ for demolition!!! Fully switched on and motivated because of my ‘healthier’ lifestyle, myself and some family got to smashing and shoveling. Boom, the pond is almost completely removed. – By the way, a yard in the UK is nothing like a yard in the States, at least ones I’ve seen on tv anyway 🙂 **See photographs below**

Guys, I’ve got to tell you this, I am a new man. We worked all afternoon demolishing this pond and at no point did I feel breathless – never. At no point did my lower back hurt – never. At no point were I a lather of so much sweat that I felt embarrassed in the company of others – never. Baby I led from the front and really shocked and surprised myself with my level of fitness. FOUR WEEKS PEOPLE. Four weeks a go I could not of done this – fact!!! Man I am so excited about the possibilities in the future if I continue this way!

Most evenings I’ve been going for a walk with my daughter around our local Marina. Surley I would be too tired to go tonight, surely. Surely not you mean!! Oh yeah baby, Mr New-man did it again (surprised himself) and still went for walkies. It’s 2.5k (1.5miles ) walk and I still did it.

How cool is this?

How changed am I? (mentally & physically)

How much ‘healthier’ am I?

Answers: Very, Beyond recognition, So much.

I am so happy right now guys and it is partly down to you, yes you. Keeping me strong, keeping me accountable, keeping me focused. please keep reading and commenting here on the blog and on Facebook.

I really am a new man and I love it.

Muchas gracias.

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

4:13

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Fitness, Healthier Lifestyle, Mental Health, Physical Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I really am – ‘A New Man’

  1. kitchentutor says:

    How great! Your enthusiasm is contagious! I have to think when you experience a day like that there is nothing that would convince you to going back to the way you were 4 weeks ago! How cool to know you don’t need to feel that way again! Good on you!

    • paulbentley says:

      Thanks kitchen. I have to do it this time. It’s got to be all the way. This bungee has stopped bouncing!! I know there are still dark and difficult days a head, but, I’m confident I can do it. Like I have just said in today’s post, I need ‘hard work, accountability and support’ and right now I feel like I’ve got all three in increasing measure.

      “I Can Do It…!”

  2. momfog says:

    So proud. 🙂

    Next week, we’re starting a diet and exercise program for our 10-year-old autistic son. He’s put on a lot of weight because of medications and obsessive compulsive eating issues. It’s going to be a hard row to hoe but you’ve convinced me it’s doable.

    BTW, how is a yard in the UK different from one in the US? Just curious.

    • paulbentley says:

      Hi mom, thanks so much and let me return the pride. The decision to take action on your sons weight is fantastic!!! I’m certain you’ll hoe that row 🙂 Tiny steps, small changes and you’ll do it!!

      Re the yard – Yards in the US (on TV anyway) always look enormous. That’s it really, it’s a size issue 🙂 Just about to read your latest post so gotta go.

      Laters alligators,

      “I Can Do It…!”

  3. Pingback: Joddle – The Movie « 224

  4. Pingback: The Workman’s Gymnasium (Yard Project Day 3) « 224

  5. Pingback: My first major challenge. Or is it? « 224

Leave a Reply

