Post Wars

I don't know what caption to put, I'm confused ???????

Torn between two posts today and I’ve got to make my decision quickly so I can get it in before the days end (nearly midnight), arrrggghhhhhhh!!!!! What to do, what to do *scratches head*

Okay, okay, okay, okay, okay (said like Leo Getz from Lethal Weapon) here goes…

So I need to buy myself a pair of decent running shoes. I’ve done my first outdoor joddle (2.5k) and that went well, although I did hurt my knee slightly (definitely down to the shoes). Thursday I’ve signed up to a ‘fun run’ 5k prior to the biggy. Thursday is a run/walk vibe, although I do wanna run!!! Gotta sort out this competitive streak it’s not good whilst I’m still well over 350lbs baby 🙂

Here’s the problem:

Remember my faddish behaviour and my solution being a fad within a fad, well, this whole running (joddling) thing is being perceived by the ‘powers that be’ (my long-suffering and wonderful wife Jan) as a possible ‘mini fad’ within a fad being controlled by a fad. “Whoa Paul, what are saying here I’m confused.” You are! How do you think I feel haha.

The bottom line is this, I currently have approval (by Jan) to purchase a modestly priced pair of asics running shoes. Actually they’re really cheap, which is good, but, more knowledgeable people than I on the subject of running (Andy, Lucy, Kartik etc) are admonishing me (nice word right there) to have the whole Gait Analysis thingy-ma-jiggy done to get the correct fitting etc. Now fad me, thinks this is really cool, but, I’ll end up buying shoes that cost four or five times more than what I am about to pay tomorrow for the ‘cheap-as-chips’ asics. Jan, quite rightly, thinks cheap pair now, assess in a month or two whether you are still running and then consider ‘bells and whistles’ shoes. The decision – She wins!

Here’s the main point of the blog post:

How complicated is this faddish existence? 🙂 I’m creating fads (the blog) to cope with the main fad (the ‘healthier’ lifestyle) and being accused of fads (the running) as an extension of the main fad. How complicated (and cool)?

Paradoxically (another nice word) maybe this is the proof that my first assertion is correct and none of this is in fact a fad at all and I really am changing to a much ‘healthier’ lifestyle. What do you think? Am I going ‘off my fad’/ Do I need to see a psycho-fad-apist (aka a fadotherapist) or am I completely (well nearly) cured of fadism.

Just thought you would all be interested in this one.

Foot Note – As I have decided on which subject to post, todays post will be entitled ‘Fadism. True or False – the ‘healthier’ lifestyle paradox.’ Tomorrows post (unless usurped) will be entitled ‘Sweat, sweat and more sweat’. Far less cerebral.

Adios amigos,

Paul

4:13 = ICDI – Oh yeah!!!!

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Exercise, Exercise Equipment, Fitness, Healthier Lifestyle, Marriage, Relationships, The Great Outdoors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Post Wars

  1. momfog says:

    It sounds as if you are a little off your fad at the moment. At least your fads are healthy fads and I wouldn’t worry about being fadish about your fads within the Fad. Fad is a fadtastic word!

    Thank God you have your cool-headed fadless wife to keep you in check.

  2. drbexl says:

    Fads are good… a better word for it is ‘polymath’ – that’s the one I go with. I took up running in Manchester having signed up for a 10k, then 1 minute on the treadmill nearly killed me. I aimed to do the 10k in 1hr30, did it in 1hr 8.26! I then went on to run the Winchester 10k… that, however, was 4-5 years ago, and now trying to get myself back up to running (love joddle), but snapping my calf muscle 3 times in 4 weeks is not helping…

    Anyway, was going to say I’ve had the gait analysis thing done twice, first time recommended asics (about £60), second time ‘Brooks’ (about £75)…. Definitely don’t go ultra-cheap, but asics are recommended by lots of runners (who definitely think Nike are a waste of time – all about the look!).

    Saw your post via FB, Wayne Clarke talking about it… and FB is where I see lots of people using Runkeeper on their phones, and it posts to FB/Twitter how far they’ve gone and in what kind of time… When my leg heals… !!

    • paulbentley says:

      Hi Bex, Thanks for the comment. Polymath hey, I likey! Yeah got some Asics Gel Galaxy 4’s (£27.99). A great price and they felt great on the treadmill today.

      Good luck with the calf rehab and spread the word (if you like it) about my blog to fb friends el al. The reason for wanting readership is fundamentally about keeping myself accountable to as many people as possible. My Polymath(s) are too short usually and I can’t afford to stop again. Last time I stopped I was about 25st. My starting weight this time was 27st 13lbs. I don’t want to stop, hit 30st and die.

      Thanks for the support and keep checking in.

      Paul

      “I Can Do It…!”

Leave a Reply

