Work on your core

"Yeah you look great, but, we need to get to the core."

So, I was in church today, which was great by the way, played drums and did a bit of singing – always great to get the music in me, out! Anyway, I digress, so, I’m in church and I start to ponder on the matter of  ‘core values’ and more specifically my core values. You know, things like truth, respect, love, honour, morality. To be honest the list of  ‘value’ words is endless, but just in case you are unsure about what I mean, here’s an explanation of a value.

“A value is a principle, standard or quality considered worthwhile and desirable.”

From here I took a few minutes to assess what I believed my core values to be and I really enjoyed the process. Looking at what I thought was important and comparing that to my usual real life actions. Did they stack up in comparison? Did I fall short? What (if any) changes could I make.

“Whoa whoa, Paul,” I hear you say, “What’s this got to do with the blog?” Well, if you hang on a minute, it’s got everything to do with it because a ‘healthier’ lifestyle needs to viewed holistically. I don’t want to have the body of an athlete if I’m gonna have the mind and attitude of a moron. I want my ‘healthier’ lifestyle to be rounded physically, emotionally, mentally, dare I say, spiritually. That isn’t actually what I was coming too though, enough with he questions 🙂

So, I’m busy reflecting and comparing, then I start to think about how my core values are inside me (the clue is in ‘core’), influencing and strengthening everything else, just like, wait for it, the muscles that make up my core strength. Yeah I think to myself, that’s right. Core values operate just like your core strength muscles. Influencing, strengthening and affecting every other system in your body. I laughed to myself. Here I am in church thinking about spiritual things and I get a nice little insight in to the importance of developing my core muscles. Now, I like to think that that’s God being interested in all things to do with me, even my core strength training, but hey, that’s just me 🙂

And the moral of the story – work on your core and GET  TO  A  PILATES  CLASS near you asap. (happy now – see I told you it was relevant to the blog!)

Adios amigos y hasta pronto,

Paul (Kracker)

ps – “I Can Do It…!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Health, Healthier Lifestyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Work on your core

  1. momfog says:

    Yay for core values, both physical and metaphysical! I’m starting a pilates class in a couple of weeks. I LOVE pilates and yoga. Very good for the core and flexibility. 🙂

  2. Team Oyeniyi says:

    Conversely of course, it is not much good having a great set of core values, if you are huffing and puffing your way through life unable to really live by them due to the lack of core phsycal muscles! So it goes both ways.

    Love the link up!

    • paulbentley says:

      Yep it definitely does go both ways I agree with you totally. In the past I’ve attempted to work at what I believed were my core values but totally under valued the value of looking after my body. As one of my favourite song writers says, “It’s a new season…”

      Also, yeah I like to think I’m not a moron too 😀 but hey that’s not really my call as it is what I project to others that others will judge. I take great comfort from your comment therefore!!

  3. Team Oyeniyi says:

    You don’t strike me as having the mind of a moron, btw.

  4. kitchentutor says:

    Great post!! One of my favorite verses from Proverbs 31, about the capable wife, is verse 17 “She draws on her strength and reveals that her arms are strong” Not only does she exemplify all the spiritual attributes a woman might have but she’s also physically capable. This post was a great encouragement to me today!! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

