The Fad Factor

Do you have the Fad Factor???

So here’s the thing, I am terribly faddish.

Dictionary def:

Fad – taken up with great enthusiasm for a brief period of time; a craze.

Yep that there people, is me! (isn’t that right Ian). Always have been, but seriously hope, not ‘always will be.’ Why?

Well, now more than ever, I don’t want this, this new found change, this pursuit of a ‘healthier’ lifestyle to end. Not only do I not want it to end, it mustn’t end if I want to live out a full life. It’s that simple.

Unfortunately I’ve got this constant little voice in the back of my head saying, “Oh Paaauuuullll, not long now. You’ll wake up tomorrow and not go to the gym. Five days exercise will soon become four, become three, become none. The couch is calling your name Paul. Go on watch more tv. Is it really worth all the effort. This is just another fad, like the latest diet to lose weight, or like the last time you went the gym for a couple of months, or learning New Testament Greek (don’t ask) or developing a website, or, or, or… ”

Firstly, I’ve elaborated (obviously). Anyone who really has a running conversation in their head needs to see a psychiatrist and fast, but you get my point, I keep thinking this is a new fad.

I’ve never done any ‘personality type’ analysis or looked seriously in to my strengths and weaknesses. I do believe that there are person types and each individual is susceptible to certain behaviour(s) but I just hope I’m able to navigate and get through to the other side of this one.

Don’t get me wrong, there are things about being faddish which are good. I usually do very well at whatever it is for that short period. I grasp it, I get it, I excel. I’m very passionate about whatever it is and I make progress, it just isn’t sustained. The bottom line is I don’t know why I’m like this and I don’t know if I can change.

A glimmer of hope

Interestingly however, what I’ve done this time is create a fad within a fad. It wasn’t a conscious thing (I think), it was more of a subconscious response, a mechanism to ensure that the main fad continues. Have you guessed what it is? Yep that’s right – the blog. Because I’m blogging about what I’m trying to achieve ie a ‘healthier’ lifestyle, the one feeds in to the other. Maybe right there is the answer. Maybe I need to constantly/periodically build other layers in to the main focus to enable sustainability. Those of you far more intelligent than I will fully understand how to make the model (if it is one) fully sustainable, all I know is this, I’m loving the fact I’m changing my lifestyle and I’m loving that I’m blogging about it. Long may it continue, because…

“I Can Do It…!”

Adios amigos,

Paul

ps – I’m keeping the 10k Poll open for one week (ends Tues 17th), so please cast your vote and help me decide. Did I say please 🙂

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Healthier Lifestyle, I Can Do It and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Fad Factor

  1. Pingback: Post Wars « 224

  2. Pingback: Grandma baked, so here’s what… « 224

  3. Pingback: Rivers Crossed [2] & Reading The Signs « 224

Leave a Reply

