Stay Accountable

I've got your back buddy!

I’m defo writing these posts too late and because I want to blog everyday, it means I’m doing short posts. I suppose sometimes a few words say more – I’m sure I’ve read that somewhere 😉 Anyhoo…

Okay so you’ve embarked on your ‘healthier’ lifestyle push (or maybe you’re thinking about it – that’s great too). You need to be accountable! What do I mean? Well I mean two things really:

1. You need people to know what you are doing so they can encourage you (aka give you pressure lol) to keep going. Show me someone who doesn’t like to hear someone say, “well done” and I’ll show you an undertaker or an executioner. Be honest, you love it when people say, “you’re doing great erm what’s your name, erm thingy, erm Paul(a)!” I know I do. It makes me feel good, too much and we get proud, but I don’t want to get all super spiritual on you now do I. Well done, you’re doing great, keep it up, man your looking trim you know, can I have your number… Only joking with the last one – or am I?!?

So get yourself a little support group going. If nothing else it will keep you on your toes. Like my good friend Sue said to me a couple of days a go whilst we were walking around Crosby Marina, “FB you can’t give up now, imagine all the people you are going to let down. Look at what you’ve written on Facebook and the blog. There’s no going back.” She’s right. We need that little bit of pressure to make us think twice about not walking or running or playing a game of tennis, whatever activities we’ve started.

Also on this point, it’s good to come out of the closet. Put yourself out there, be proud of what you are doing and the changes you’ve made. It takes guts but you’ve got them – miles and miles of them actually 🙂

2. You need people you can be honest with about the challenges you face on your journey. These people may only be two or three, maybe even one, but, they are so important. These people will give you a kick up the backside and you let them because you know they are right.

You’re going to struggle, you’re going to be tempted by food (beyond a treat and you know when that is), you’re going to be tempted to get a bit lazy (especially when it gets colder). These few people love you enough to tell you like it is. “Paul, you’re taking a step backwards,” “Paula, why haven’t you been the gym for a week? Get with it!” These people say things you don’t want to hear but need to be said. They are true friends, believe me.

You also need someone to confess too. Damn straight! It takes guts to embark on what you’re doing, but it takes more guts not to lie to an accountability partner when they ask you how your week has been. We all want an easy life and the last thing we need is someone ‘having a go’ because I’m not going the gym or I’m out on the ‘razz’ three nights a week. You know who you are! Confession is good for the soul and in this context can help you keep on/get back on track.

Finally. You know, we all need purpose and you have no idea how what you are doing, is an inspiration to others. People you know well and not so well. Isn’t that great? Isn’t it good to know that your actions are witnessing (church speak) to someone else? Now that really floats my boat. I love it when I think that what I am doing makes other people want to get up and do something too.

Think about it.

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Exercise, Family, Friends, Healthier Lifestyle, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

